The Convention Fantasy

5 Jan

Thank you all so much for the comments, suggestions, and good wishes you sent me yesterday.  The pain pills are finally working, so even though my jaw’s still swollen, i’m not hurting so much.  Beast/Master – i might even be able to go back and watch the whole Dentist Song without cringing too much!

But reading your comments on the post i wrote before i got swallowed up by non-kinky pain just increases how much i’d love for us all to be in one room, having a conversation.   And if you couldn’t be there, maybe we’d “web camera” you in. 

In my mind – ok, i confess, in my mind we do the convention here in Where-i-Live, and we do it on the first weekend of the month so we can take advantage of some of the munch/ play party opportunities and mingle with the larger community.  Any blogger would be welcome, and their partner. 

Friday night, people would start arriving.  We’d have to decide if we wanted to go to the Friday munch/ play party, but i’m thinking maybe not.   In my fantasy, we begin to bond as a group first. 

So dinner – maybe some kind of take in, or we could do a private dining room somewhere.   And we just start talking, nothing real structured, although (being me) i would have questions in case we didn’t gel immediately.  But i can’t imagine that we wouldn’t.  

Or – this might be even better – we start the convention Friday afternoon, people could come as early as Thursday night.  We have classes Friday afternoon – could be blogging related or BDSM related.  Then Friday night, we go to the munch and play party.

Saturday afternoon, more workshops, or discussion groups.  i’d love to lead or be in a discussion on trauma and fathers and mothers and how we come to this.  Or look at spiritual aspects.  Emotional/ psychological components.  It would be a blast. But we could have other stuff too, obviously.  Depending on what youall wanted.

We could set stuff up based on expertise youall have – and i could consult with community leaders here and see if we could find people to present on topics we’re interested in.  i know someone who edits BDSM manuscripts, maybe she’d be willing to do a presentation.  Maybe we could open some of it to the community here too, although that would have its own pros and cons.  But in any case, i think we could get permission to use the dungeon space in the afternoon for whatever we decide to do.

Then Saturday night, we do dinner somewhere nice, private dining room, and then go to the play party.    

Wouldn’t that be a blast?

Ok – and maybe i’m getting ahead of things.  Maybe this year we do it at Mick and Molly’s undisclosed Western location, and keep it more simple.  {What would that look like, M & M?}  But if we do that, than one discussion needs to be how we can grow the concept for next year.  

So – coming to you from my drug induced, pain pill ridden morning – there’s some thoughts. 

laughing

What do youall think? 

 

 

20 Responses to “The Convention Fantasy”

  1. strivingforpeace January 5, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    Wow

    you’re thinking guest speakers — and I’m thinking we’re all going to be in the kitchen talking recipes and saying things like…”I thought you would have a Texas accent” and “Wow you’re taller than I thought”

    it does sound fun

    sfp

    • aisha January 5, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      @Sfp – laughing – yes, we’ll have time for that too! (But you do have a Texas accent, don’t you?)

      You remember a while back when I was having such a hard time with the assignment to buy a slightly slutty dress? Well, planning this is much more up my alley!

      aisha

  2. sweet kk January 5, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    (nervous giggles) me likey

    kk

    • aisha January 5, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      @kk – I”m glad you like the idea! No need to be nervous… aisha

  3. Mick January 5, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    your venue is probably more convenient than ours. and we have no dungeon nearby, altho there is a Penitente Morada behind our house a few hundred yards, where it is reported they engage on self flagellation and various crucifixes are available for hauling down the street on one’s shoulders. All for the glorification of Jesus Christ, of course.

    • aisha January 5, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      But yours is prettier – Um, your venue is prettier, that is. And offers a different kind of “getting away from it all.”

      -and really? Self flagellation and toting crucifixes? Would we get to see it?

      aisha

      • Mick January 5, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

        yes, if you come for good friday.

  4. sin January 5, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Well now that’s something to think on isn’t it? I don’t have a Texas accent btw. 🙂

    I probably can’t come. But… you never know. And it won’t stop me from speculating and wondering and imagining. OK?

    I wonder what kinds of bondingégetting acquainted activities you’d plan for us Aisha. Seriously.

    • aisha January 5, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      It won’t be complete without you – just know that. But whether or not you come, I’m delighted that you’ll help us play with the idea.

      AND – seriously – you have a web cam, right? I can see possiblities there for people who can’t join us to at least be in on some discussion.

      Here’s one idea I’ve had – we’d send out a few questions ahead of time to people that were coming – such as – I don’t know exactly – maybe tell us something we wuoldn’t know from reading your blog. Tell us something else that you’d like to go to a convention to learn about. Tell us the most difficult part of getting away to come to this convention. Maybe even – what animal would you be? Those kinds of things – but I’d want input from youall first on the kinds of things you want to know about each other. Then, at the first gathering, and at various times throughout the convention, we’d pull some out to read aloud and let people guess whose response it was – just 3 guesses, but I bet as the weekend went by, we’d get a whole lot better at guessing who’d said what, right?

      There’s one idea.

      So, here’s a thought – do any of you teck-y people know a way we could set up a convention page? Ideally, other people would be able to ocntribute to it.

      aisha

  5. kellyred January 5, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    It sounds like a marvelous idea to me, even if it doesn’t make it past the planning stage.

    Although, do you really want to take away the mystery?

    • aisha January 5, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      @Kelly – How cool is it that you were commenting on my blog at the EXACT same moment I was commenting on yours? I love that…

      I guess there are some trade-offs involved in the whole convention idea, but I tend to pick community over lots of over things… but that’s just me, right?

      I’m glad you like the idea – and yes, I think that’s why we need some kind of planning page where we can all play.

      aisha

  6. Jz January 5, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    May I wear a paper bag over my head to maintain my air of mystery???

    • aisha January 5, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      @Jz – Absolutely. aisha {laughing}

  7. nilla January 5, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    i love the idea of this, really. i wonder tho, if most bloggers, like me, are shy IRL?

    once i get to know you…put the faces to the ones in my head? i’m fine.

    but that first part of time when i am all nervous…well, IRL i am not the nilla i am on virtual paper.

    tho i do say fuck.

    LOL –roaring….

    but i can give you about 50 jokes about farting for ice breakers….

    (i want to go. i want to go. Can i go? dunno. dunno. depends on life i guess.)

    but i wannnnnna….

    HUG

    nilla

    • aisha January 6, 2011 at 4:15 am #

      @’Nilla –

      Yes, I think we’re a shy bunch – I even am if I don’t have things to take care of. But all we gotta do is show up, and it’ll flow from there.

      Start figuring out how you’re gonna do it. And what you want it to be like.

      love,

      aisha

  8. slave alisha January 6, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    I love this idea and I’m MAJORLY shy in person. This tickles M to death to hear when I have NOOOOOOO problem telling him AND the entire world who will listen what I want to do to Him in explicit detail. 🙂

    But I want to go and if it all comes to fruition (hows that for my big word for the day? lol) I will figure out a way to definitely be there. And hopefully I can convince M to come with me. 🙂

    • aisha January 8, 2011 at 5:09 am #

      That would be soooo wonderful. I’d love to meet you – and M. And it would be a blast.

      aisha

  9. William January 7, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    I would love to meet all of you if it is close enough for me to attend.

    • aisha January 8, 2011 at 5:08 am #

      I hope it is close enough, William – we’d love to meet you!

      aisha

  10. William January 8, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    And I would love to meet you too!

Leave a Reply

