The Good News Is…

17 Mar

The good news is that not every adventure i have has to turn out well.  There is no law that says so. 

Cause if there was, i’d have broken it last night for sure.

i went to the stupid coffee thing.  And the person i was supposed to meet was apparently in the breakroom when i got there. 

And he didn’t know what i looked like.   Just my leg.

And i didn’t know what he looked like. 

Ok, his picture’s on fetlife, i didn’t look.  My fault.  Totally my fault.

Laughing ~

So – did i ask for him?  Ask if anybody’d seen him?

Noooooooooo.

i get a cup of coffee and sit down.  I chat a little bit with another woman who looked like she was alone – until her friend shows up and they leave to see if they can find a movie to watch.

I chat a little bit with a young couple – until another couple sits down and they start talking about on-line games.  Yes, i’m the only person there who’s not an on-line gaming addict. 

Ho hum. 

Another couple asks if anyone wants to play strip poker.  They’re shuffling the cards as a third person joins them. 

i don’t play poker.  And were they serious about strip poker?  Cause even if i played poker…

i know.  Clearly, i’m no fun.

Another couple comes in  and takes out a box; they start some kind of board game.  i’ve met them before, but neither one of them make eye contact with me or speaks.  i don’t remember their names.  

i get out my iphone and post on my blog…  i am not having fun.

There are apparently a lot more people upstairs in the smoking room.  i wish i still smoked.

Some guy who might have been the person who i was supposed to have connected with comes into the room at least once (i think.)  He doesn’t make eye contact with me either.  (If it was even him.  Which i didn’t know at the time.)

i feel like crying.

i know – i’m a big baby.  i just feel lonesome.  And sad.  You know.

i check to see if there are any comments on my post yet.  There aren’t.

i look around the room again.  There are about 10 other people.  Everyone is talking to someone else.  i try to decide if there’s a conversation i want to try to break into.

i think – fuck this.  i’m 55 years old, i don’t have to do this crap. 

i get up, throw away my cup and head out the door.

With great relief, i drive home.

i know i’m being a big baby.  i don’t care.  i have my own pity party all the way home.

At home, Gg has commented on my post – yay!  And – O!  Look – other people have too!  i still have friends.  There are people that like me! 

laughing…

and youall are really funny too!

Ok, the pity party is offically over.   At least the coffee was pretty good. 

*************************************

Wrote this last night – by the time i went to bed, i was fine with it all.   Woke up feeling almost over my cold, ready for work.  Noticed it was a little chilly in the house – the furnace isn’t working!

But i can’t complain.  Started the gas fireplace, and it’s not too cold this week, so i won’t freeze to death until i can get someone out to look at it.

So – who wants to come to a bloggers’ convention/party the first weekend in June?  Seriously. Let me know if you’re interested…

26 Responses to “The Good News Is…”

  1. Mick March 17, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    we can come for at least one evening… Mick and Molly.

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 7:30 am #

      @Mick and Molly –

      Yay!!

      And Happy St. Patrick’s Day, ye Irish lad and lass…

      laughing…

      aisha

  2. nilla March 17, 2011 at 6:55 am #

    awww, i am so so sorry you had a yuck time. You lasted longer than i would have.

    And i’d love to go to a naughty blogger convention…caint, but i’d love to. Srsly would love to.

    and i would have commented last night if i’d seen the post; Master has been sending me to bed early as i recover…we both have a vested interest in my being well before the weekend…

    *smiles*

    love you. love and admire your bravery for just…going and doing this. Seriously, aisha, you are my hero.

    nilla

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 7:34 am #

      @’Nilla –

      Well, if you can’t do it this year, start planning for next year. {I know, I’m getting a little ahead of myself, but that’s ok…}

      I’m glad your Master is insisting that you take care of yourself – that’s a good thing to do. Hope you’re 100% better really soon!

      Thanks for the support… I’m no hero, but it’s nice to know you don’t think i’m a complete chicken/baby/wimp…

      Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

      aisha
      aisha

  3. ahiddenslave March 17, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Sorry you had such a bad time, its horrid when u feel like a “billy no mates”, and then having to drive home by yourself in a bad mood, nothing worse… you are braver than me…I wouldn’t have gone..or if I had…i would have huffed and puffed my way out for the room, moaning about bad manners!
    sorry i didn’t see your post last night….lots of hugs
    HSxx

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Thanks, HS – it wasn’t really a big deal, for real, i mean, if that’s the worst thing that happens to me this week, I’ll be fine, right? laughing. But I sure enjoy the sympathy – thanks!!

      aisha

  4. thesubmissivebf March 17, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    You were brave to go, braver than I probably would have been. Sorry it didn’t work out.
    Happy St Patricks Day!

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Thank you, Sbf – Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you too!

      aisha

  5. xantu March 17, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Blogger convention where? when?

    Though I have to confess my interest is primarily vicarious. Like Master would let me go someplace far away… tugs tentatively on the leash.

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      I e-mailed you where – now you just need to either talk him into coming or into letting you come. It’s just one little weekend…

      Maybe it’s not that far from where you are?

      aisha

  6. Donna March 17, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Hi Sweetie,

    Bill and I plan to be there. We’re looking forward to it!

    Sorry about the fiasco you went through last night. Situations like that make me crazy, well crazier might be more accurate.

    Hugs,
    Donna

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      YAY!

      Thanks for the sympathy. You know, it is partly my own fault, I guess I could have been more pro-actively social – but I just couldn’t…

      aisha

  7. sin March 17, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Aisha I would come if I could, but … almost certainly cannot.

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      Yeah, I know it’s a long way for you. Start planning for next year.

      We’ll go shoe shopping too…

      aisha

  8. knottylittlemonkey March 17, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I’m so sorry you didn’t have fun.

    Guess the hair wasn’t an omen after all. See, that’s what you get for going to an unlicensed, uncredentialed therapist. I never said I wasn’t a quack, but at least I didn’t charge you!

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

      @LM – LOL – Really – you are too funny!

      LM and i were IM’ing right before i left last night, and i was talking about how much i hate new things and anxiety, and she was being all therapeutic, and then we thought the fact that it was a “good hair night” was probably a good omen.

      Ok, maybe not. But think how bad it might have been without the good hair aspect…

      LOL

      aisha

  9. slave alisha March 17, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Where is this bloggers convention party? 🙂

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      I e-mailed you where… you should come!!!

      aisha

  10. ewoman88 March 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    blogger’s convention?? I wonder if I could make it…>.>

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

      @ewoman88 – Yes! If it’s ok, I’ll email you where it is…

      aisha

      • ewoman88 March 18, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

        sure go ahead 🙂

  11. KellyRed March 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I want to come to the convention!

    • aisha March 17, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

      Well, I want you to come!! Just do it!!

      aisha

  12. striving for peace March 18, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    please — not the FIRST week in June — the 2nd or the 3rd!

    (I’ll still have the kiddo until about the 9th)

    sfp

  13. blue March 27, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I’m interested, and there’s a chance it might fit our schedule so Master and Mistress could come too.

    • aisha March 27, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

      O Woo hooo! That would be awesome. Ok, first weekend in June for sure. Yes.

Leave a Reply

