A Quote and a Poem

11 Apr
Yesterday, I was thinking about the comments suggesting that selfishness is the number one deadly sin for subs.  I was still contemplating what the real opposite of selfishness is, and found this quote:
 
” …Darkness ceases only when light is introduced; so ignorance can only be dispersed by Knowledge; selfishness by Love.”  ~~James Allen
 
“Love” as the top quality that subs need ~ that works for me.  Not necessarily love in the “lets get married and live happily ever after sense, but love.
 
On the other hand, i’ve decided i probably don’t know nothing ’bout D/s relationships, so don’t go by me.  i am just bumbling my way through this.
 
Which brings me to the poem:
 
Autobiography in Five Short Chapters
 
          by Portia Nelson
 
             Chapter One

I walk down the street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I fall in.
I am lost… I am helpless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes forever to find a way out.

    Chapter Two

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I am in the same place.
But it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

    Chapter Three

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it is there.
I still fall in… it’s a habit.
My eyes are open.
I know where I am.
It is my fault… I get out immediately.

    Chapter Four

I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

    Chapter Five

I walk down another street.

i love that poem.  i may even have posted it on my blog before, i think about it often enough.  Have used it with my clients for years.  It’s used in recovery programs often.   i was reminded of it again yesterday at church when our homilist used it in her sermon.

“I walk down another street.”  That sentence brings a sense of relief.   Like it’s a triumph.  And it is ~ of course it is.   And ~~~~

~~~the new street has another hole in it. 

You are not on some street that doesn’t have a hole in it ~ they all do.  The poem just starts over. 

   

14 Responses to “A Quote and a Poem”

  1. Mick April 11, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Of course, you could just fix the hole.

    • aisha April 11, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      {laughing}

      Thanks, Mick – I can always count on you for solid advice ~ and music.

      hugs,

      aisha

  2. sweet kk April 11, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    fantastic poem! love it!

    K

    • aisha April 11, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks, Kk! Hope you’re easing back into real life ok after your vacation…

      aisha

  3. nilla April 11, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    this is a story i’ve used a lot as well; from my days working at a church…

    the imagery is so intense, and so real.

    and so easy to recall when i’m foundering in that hole…

    and YOUR added piece??? you can walk down another street…but there *will* be another hole? yes, i so never thought of that. i just kept thinking i got turned ’round and wound up on that “bad” street again…

    great thinking going on here…if you smell smoke, it’s me. (laughing)

    and aisha? you are in the eastern time zone. (unless You’re West of Chicago…time change line is just before you get to Chi-town…not exactly sure where it is in where-you-live…but i’m purty sure we’re in the same place. i’ll call you sometime and ask you what time it is, okay?

    Laughs.

    nilla

    • aisha April 11, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      @’Nilla,

      Funny, isn’t it? But what would make us think that just that one street has a hole in it? I mean, really?

      Thanks so much for the time zone tip! Of course, I’ll have to look at a map to see if I’m west of Chicago… Or maybe I’ll just text you now.

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. k April 11, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Yes “love” definitely true for me.

    • aisha April 11, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      @K – cool. Glad that works for you too. aisha

  5. littlemonkey April 11, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I’m going to print this poem and add it to my planner (my paper brain, yes, I still have one. What a great poem!

    • aisha April 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Thank you Lm – I’m glad you liked it! hugs, aisha

  6. angel April 11, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Foul, i say! No one ever told me they all had holes. Damn. Better watch where my cane gets stuck!! Or falls through! 😀

    i kept thinking of this poem a year ago, kept asking myself “How did i get back here?” as lines from this poem tickled my brain. Its been many, many years since i’ve seen the whole thing. Thanks.

    • aisha April 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      @Angel,

      {laughing} I hear you! They just like to make us think that once we get off that street we’ve got it made.

      Actually, I think “they” believe that. 😦

      Glad you liked it.

      aisha

  7. Gray April 11, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Love it!

    This is a perfect metaphor for the way I have conducted my relationships over the past twenty years. Just in the last year and a half have I stopped walking down that same damn street and finally found one that is bright, sunny, filled with yummy sights and sounds, and that leads to even better things to come.

    Thanks for the poem.

    • aisha April 12, 2011 at 4:38 am #

      @Gray ~ That’s so cool ~ I’m glad your life is better, and glad the poem struck a chord for you! aisha

Leave a Reply

