More Rain…

3 May

i’m trying really hard to hold onto the magic of the rain, although it gets more difficult as the rain continues…  but sunshine is in the forecast for tomorrow, so i’ll hang on.  

i had a response to the quote i posted Sunday from my notecard that i wanted to share.  It’s from Donna, who is “on the staff” of UCTMW.  i put “on the staff” in quotes because i’m sure she is so underpaid it’s like free labor ~ o, wait~ it is free labor ~ when she’s worth her weight in gold.  However…

Occasionally i get to hijack her brilliance and use her over here.  {And clearly, Mick, this is a week for hijacking, right?}  So here’s Donna’s response to my quote on Sunday:

 I loved the poem on Aisha’s blog today. In fact, I cried. Bill had given me a poem on Saturday evening and when I read Aisha’s poem on Sunday morning, it felt as though the two were linked.

Here is the one Bill sent me.

‘We Have Always Been Near’

In your light I learn how to love.
In your beauty, how to make poems.
You dance inside my chest,
where no one sees you,
but sometimes I do,
and that sight becomes this art.

~ Rumi

In thinking about the poem Aisha posted, as it relates to me, the rain is polio, its after effects always present – with positives and a few negatives. I don’t mind that this is my journey and I have learned to dance with the rain, but I can’t join a Dom under the umbrella that keeps others away from this.  

Bill, familiar with my journey and familiar with what the future would probably hold for me, smiled and freely stepped away from his protected world to take my hand and share the positives and the negatives of mine. And, honest to God/Goddess, he still thinks it was a good trade.

i’m never sure which one of them is luckier – Bill for having Donna, or Donna for having Bill.  And for real, i bet it’s due more to hard work at the relationship than to luck.

But it seems to me that we all have something ~ some event, some aspect of ourselves, something ~ that is to our lives what polio has been to Donna’s life.  Our events and parts of who we are may not be so clearly visible, but they’re just as real.  How we deal with them is what makes us who we are, right?

 Thank you, Donna.

11 Responses to “More Rain…”

  1. Mick May 3, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    Hey…. no staff poaching! WE have a lot invested on training. I may have to get her to sign a non-compete.

    Mick

    • aisha May 3, 2011 at 7:09 am #

      Dear Mick,

      HA.

      Good luck with that.

      laughing…

      aisha

      P.S. Training? Like the WC’s tutorial on ass fucking? Donna should be DOING the training…

  2. Donna May 3, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Actually, Aisha, I didn’t need a tutorial from WC on that particular skill, just sayin’. And you are right about the hard work. We have a long standing -talk vs walk(out)- rule that has saved our butts a number of times. Oh, I’ve circled back around to butts, haven’t I? Must be on my mind. Going to wake Bill up now and see if that’s what he’s thinking, too…

    Hugs,
    Donna

    • aisha May 3, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      Dear Donna,

      Yes, I knew you didn’t need that tutorial ~ I was just trying to imagine what training UCTMW could have provided that Mick’s talking about…

      Lol

      Aisha

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. vanillamom May 3, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    i love peering into the “window” of peoples lives…and here is a perfect example of just that…i love the metaphor, and how true it is that we all have “rain” in our lives…maybe it’s one big thing, or a whole bunch of little ones strung together…who we are is formed as we learn to cope, to deal, and finally, to triumph.

    love,

    nilla

    • aisha May 3, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      @’nilla,

      Yes. I agree. Even though it seems like I whine and complain on here a lot, really, I know that it’s all growth and finding meaning…

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. littlemonkey May 3, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Aisha, you are uplifting all on your own, but you and Donna combined? Wow.

    • aisha May 4, 2011 at 4:30 am #

      @LM – {smiling} Thanks! aisha

  5. angel May 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Somehow, i never got to see the post with the poem in it at all.
    i’ve sat here and sat here and all i could think of it…how i don’t see rain anymore and how you’d think that would kill any enjoyment in it. Because i used to light candles and crawl in my bed *covered* in books and read. First, the words went away and then the rain.
    You’d think that would be a terrible thing.
    But i can’t explain how delightful the thunder and lightning is or how strangely magical it is to feel rain that you cannot see.

    i’m glad i’m not alone in understanding this.
    The world would just suck if we sat about mourning what was lost instead of reveling in what we found.

    • vanillamom May 4, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      @angel…what a beautiful sentiment. Thank you.

      nilla

    • aisha May 4, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      @Angel –

      Hugs. Just hugs.

      aisha

Leave a Reply

