A Political Moment

5 May

i try not to be overtly political on my blog – not that I don’t have strong opinions, but i usually try to keep them in my vanilla life.  But ~~

~~the GOP and 16 Democrats in the House just passed a bill to further ways to fund abortion.  Currently, you have to be able to show that the pregnancy was the result of rape or that the mother’s life is in danger for Medicaid to cover it.  Now women with private insurance could have to “prove” to the IRS that they were raped.  

The bill was originally also designed to change the definition of rape so that it would only be considered rape if the victim fought back and was physically overpowered.  Statutory rape – a 12 year old with a 30 year old – wouldn’t count.  Rape of a minor by a trusted adult wouldn’t count.  If you were drugged and raped, it wouldn’t count.  Strong backlash led them to change this language, but the door is still open to slide this provision in again.

If you want to read more about this, here’s a link:

http://www.addictinginfo.org/2011/05/05/house-gop-unanimously-passes-anti-abortion-bill-that-redefines-rape-raises-taxes-and-creates-rape-audits/

If you’re ok with this, then of course you’re entitled to your opinion.

But if you’re not ~~

and if you want to do something ~~

here’s a link to a petition you can sign.  It’s the only thing i can do today.

 http://pol.moveon.org/noaudits/?rc=fb.taf.alt

13 Responses to “A Political Moment”

  1. nilla May 5, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    i went.

    i signed.

    i linked to my vanilla face book page.

    My body. My choices. Keep the IRS out of my pussy, thank you very much.

    nilla
    still steaming about this one…

    • aisha May 6, 2011 at 5:43 am #

      @’Nilla – Cool. Thanks. If those of us who feel this way don’t act, we’ll lose for sure. aisha

  2. sin May 5, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    … you Americans. Jeez you piss me off as a country sometimes. How can you be so right wing and repressive sometimes? I know it’s your country, not mine, but … what you do sends a message to the world.

    Oh and btw, why would you not say political stuff on your blog? it’s YOUR blog!

    • aisha May 6, 2011 at 5:56 am #

      @Sin,

      Yes. We piss me off too, on a regular basis. We are so often still so Puritan. We may not have actual Scarlet A’s or “stocks” we put people in, may not have actually burnt a witch in a while, but in essence we certainly do.

      But there’s a couple of reasons why I hesitate to put political stuff on my blog. For one, anything that connects with abortion can be – is -very divisive. In the volunteer thing I do, I’m around a lot of hate and viciousness disguised as “Christianity” and “love,” and I hesitate to invite any of that here.

      And really, that’s the main reason. My vanilla life is full of ways that I’m fighting these kinds of things. When I help my female clients realize that their needs and wants matter too, I’m fighting it. When I challenge “slut shaming” within my staff, I’m fighting it. When I read and post article after article of how the political right and the religious right join together to try to reverse Roe vs Wade, to make marriage “one woman/one man,” to not allow sex education in the schools to include reference to homosexuality, I’m fighting it.

      So theoretically, this blog and my kink life {such as it is} are some respite from all that. That’s really why I hesitate to bring it here. Good point you make though.

      Thanks

      aisha

      • sin May 6, 2011 at 10:17 am #

        Yes, I get this. Absolutely. And I do the same thing. Pleasers, both of us, afraid of offending or alienating someone, anyone. But I have been thinking it’s time to do things differently. Thanks for giving me food for thought with this.

  3. littlemonkey May 5, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I’m horrified by this. I signed. I shared to FB. Government needs to get out of or personal lives.

    • aisha May 6, 2011 at 5:44 am #

      Thanks, LM. Yes, they do. hugs, aisha

  4. Donna May 5, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Bill and I both signed the petition and then called the office of the local Democrat who voted in favor of this. I think the Democrats should withhold support of any kind from those supposed Democrats who voted to support this.

    And really, where is the anger? Why aren’t citizens concerned about the loss of personal freedoms and privacy. Are people too busy texting and watching American Idol to pay attention to all that has been lost, especially since the so-called Patriot Act was passed?

    Not that I have a strong opinion.
    Donna

    • aisha May 6, 2011 at 6:00 am #

      @Donna,

      Yes, I think letting our Democratic reps know how we feel is something else we can do.

      Yeah, my response to this is too long for a comment – and i kind of overslept this morning and need to go do my volunteer thing. But, short version, I think we’re too overwhelmed with too many things. Too many anxieties, too many “stressors.” And nice women are shamed out of speaking out on this.

      And really, you fired me up on this, so thank you!

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. Mick May 6, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    the craziness seems to have no bottom…

  6. K May 6, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Thanks for the link. I signed too. I hate politics. But they control so much that I know I can’t just ignore it.

    K

  7. angel May 6, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    aisha,
    Just wanted to say thanks.
    Signed with an email pointing out that i was the 12 year old girlchild raped by a 32 year old man. No one has the right to define rape or who has access to care afterwards without being revictimized.
    It’s crazy-making that anyone would *want* to.

  8. aisha May 7, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Thank you, Angel and K, for taking the time to sign. Mick, you’re right, the craziness knows no end.

    aisha

Leave a Reply

