My job…

19 May

…is eating my life.  In big chunks.  I have an image of the old pacman games – remember them?   The little yellow icon, that made that bleepy noise and ate everything in its path?


Well, the little dots are my life, and the pacman thing-y is my job.

This week, i’m going to a training on Friday so i was going to take off early this afternoon.  Instead, something came up that i need to do this afternoon at 4:15, so that’s out.  And then something else came up that kept me from preparing for a meeting this morning at 8:30, so i need to get to work early enough to read a stack of material – and yes, i could have brought it home, but i forgot it.

So i’ll be up to 45  hours this week, instead of the 38 i signed on for.  And really, that’s the problem.  The job i have actually needs someone who’s so committed that they don’t mind doing at least 45 hours every week, taking work home, and making the job their life focus.

i know because i did that for a long time.  But that’s not where my heart is now.

Sigh.

On the other hand, lots of fun things going on this weekend.  Even aside from the swingers party, tomorrow i’m meeting someone i’ve been chatting with from the vanilla dating site.  i don’t think we’re a match, but it should be fun.   Even his profile on-line makes me smile.  

And drumming circle is tomorrow night.

Memorial Day weekend is coming up, with lots of music and festivals, and there’s only 22 days til my vacation.

AND i’m lucky to have a job that allows me to support myself, and that i often enjoy, even if it is trying to suck the life out of me…

And i’m taking things in stride a lot more than i used to.  

For example, I went to do a presentation about 3 blocks away from where I work, and I got lost getting there.  Was on the verge of late.  It was 3 blocks from my office.  And i’d been there once before.

At one time, that would have been excrutiatingly embarrassing for me.  i would have made up a different excuse for running late and it would have kept me feeling uncomfortable.  Now I just laughed and apologized.  “I just about got lost getting here,” i said.  “Three blocks from my office, and i almost get lost.  This is why they don’t let me out of the building very often…”  and they laughed and it was all good.

8 Responses to “My job…”

  1. Mick May 19, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    Jobs do have that way of biting you in the ass, just when you thought things were under control.

    I have a day like that today myself, and had planned on taking things easy, easing into a weekend with my daughter in DC.

    Somehow I missed your entry about the party on Saturday night… have fun and give us a full report, Aisha.

    Mick

    • aisha May 19, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      Thanks, Mick – you know you’ll get the full report!

      Hope you have fun in DC with your daughter. Poor Molly. Too bad the WC can’t fly up and keep her company… 🙂

      aisha

  2. striving for peace May 19, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    wow – I could have written the first half of this blog

    but the last bit — where you leanred to take things moe in stride?

    I need to work on that

    sfp

    • aisha May 19, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

      @Sfp – It’s not easy, believe me, I know. Nice to know you can relate to the pain – not the good kind of pain either!

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. sin May 19, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    I TOTALLY get this. I work part time, 4 days a week at a job that would be better off done by someone working 6 days a week. So sometimes it eats my life. And sometimes I love it and sometimes I don’t (the don’t is when I have no control btw, how wierd is that?).

    And I try to keep it to the 4 days a week, try to keep it all in the office hours, and not bring it home nights and weekends, cause otherwise it’s just me getting paid less to do the job, right?

    I chuckled at you being Zen about getting lost. I do think that comes with age, with confidence.

    Good post.

    • aisha May 19, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks, Sin!

      I bet if we took a poll, a bunch of us are in that same boat. Theoretically, I’m off Fridays, just work 4 days a week too.

      And thank goodness for getting more Zen about it all right?

      I sure enjoyed your comments popping up on different posts today! Thanks!

      aisha

  4. angel May 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Lies that are not needed do seem to create distance, don’t they?
    Good for speaking the silly truth of simply getting lost for a minute.
    Everyone can relate to that in some way. Good for you.

    • aisha May 19, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Well, in all honesty, I might not have said it if I’d been doing a presentation for a bunch of business people in marketing or sales. This time, my audience was about 20 women and a few men at the “Senior Citizen Center.” They got a kick out of it, and it dispelled any concern they might have had that I was going to be some know-it-all social worker. 🙂

      hugs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

