A Good Night’s Sleep

25 May

That’s really all i need right now, a good night’s sleep.  Twelve hours would be nice.

But there’s a whole day ahead of me yet.  

i was at a meeting last night and met someone ~ no, not a Dom someone ~ a woman.  She was talking about a venture she’s in charge of, and mentioned a plan to offer therapy for “indigent people.”  i don’t much like that phrase, but i liked her ideas.

She was presenting on something else, she just mentioned the counseling thing briefly, almost parenthetically.  Maybe that’s why it didn’t click with me til i was driving home.

You know, i’m looking for a way out of my current job.  Not looking real hard, not looking desperately, but thinking i’d like to move away from working for a large organization.  To not put my energy into preaching the party line about what services we provide and how we provide them.  

Ok, i don’t try real hard to  do that, but i’m kinda s’posed to.   And i do put energy into trying to bridge the chasm between what i think would be ideal and what the agency can support.  

Anyhow, i was driving home and wishing the meeting hadn’t lasted so long, idly thinking about the speaker’s mention of this counseling venture.  i was feeling a little ~ wistful, maybe.  Thinking, gee, that’s really not too far off from my own fantasy idea.  Thinking how cool it could be…

And it hit me ~~~~

~~~~ i need to call her.

i have no idea what stage of planning they’re in, but it’s early.  And really, i need to connect with her.  Now. 

So i’ll call her.  

Today.

And hope that i don’t get any jail runs tonight, so i can go to sleep at my real bedtime.

6 Responses to “A Good Night’s Sleep”

  1. ahiddenslave May 25, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    calling her sounds like a really good idea aisha, life changes on a phone call.
    HSxx

    • aisha May 25, 2011 at 6:58 am #

      Yes. Thanks for the support. You know, there was a time in my life that I would have been afraid to, would have totally second-guessed myself, talked myself right out of it. But that’s not even a possibility today.

      more hugs,

      aisha

  2. greengirl May 25, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Aisha,
    I know that work is not our whole life – not even the largest part of our life – but it is very much nicer to get some fulfillment from it. If you like, or are fulfilled by your profession, but the specific environment negates that – then taking a leap makes perfect sense. I hope it leads somewhere good for you.

    • aisha May 26, 2011 at 5:04 am #

      @Gg,

      Thanks for the good wishes. You’re right of course, fulfilling work is wonderful, and I can’t really complain about mine because it’s often satisfying. But I think there are different things I need to be doing at some point, and this could lead to some things. Anyhow. Thanks again.

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. sin May 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    Reading this at almost midnight – too busy to read this morning. So… did you call?

    • aisha May 26, 2011 at 5:14 am #

      @Sin,

      I actually e-mailed her instead of calling – which turned out to be a good thing, cause I would not have had a chance to talk to her yesterday at all. I haven’t heard back though ~which is probably also a good thing, cause I wouldn’t have had time to talk ~ but if I don’t hear back by next Tuesday, I’ll call her.

      I won’t say keep your fingers crossed, cause that’s a long time to keep ’em crossed, but if you think about it, send some positive energy this way.

      Thanks!

      aisha

Leave a Reply

