Soooooo Sleepy

26 May

i know, this is not even a kinky blog anymore.  Sorry.  

Yawn…

Yesterday, tornado warnings were so threatening that i was even a little worried ~ and i did have a jail run ~ but i made it through that.  i stopped at the grocery on my way home, and the cashier commented to the man in front of me, “Oh, you’re getting one of these too?  Seems like everybody’s buying them today.”

“What are they?” i asked.  It was a fairly small box – i couldn’t imagine what it could be, but you know, if everyone’s getting them, i wanted to make sure i didn’t need one.

“It’s a weather radio,” he said, in tones that suggested anyone would have known that.  “People been buying ’em all day.”

Apparently, in case of a natural disaster, they allow you to get information if other sources of communication are down.   According to my daughter, they also wake you up if there’s bad weather.  

i didn’t get one.  i got milk, and headed home ~~

~~ where my daughter and her boyfriend were waiting for me.  She had called earlier to see if it was ok if they spent the night in my basement, and of course i’d said yes.  She’s a little phobic about storms anyhow, so this has been a tough spring for her.

And besides, it sounded like they were really serious about the tornado risk this time.

So she fixed dinner, which was delightful, and i stayed up way too late, once again,  just talking and hanging out.  It was well worth the loss of sleep.

 i asked her, half teasing, if i had to sleep in the basement too.  They had the bedroom, but the couch was available.  She just looked at me for a minute, then shrugged.  “You know, i can’t make you, it’s your call.  But if the sirens go off, you know i’ll have to come wake you up.  And you know how hard you can be to wake up.” 

Gosh, she’s such a grown-up.  i don’t know how i got so lucky.

So of course, i said, “Well, ok, fine, cause after all, how stupid would i feel if a tornado hits and i get killed cause i didn’t want to sleep on the couch downstairs?”  Yeah, pretty stupid. 

Yawn… 

If I can just stay awake through today, it will be all good, and i move into a five-day weekend, with plenty of time to sleep.

O, and we didn’t get hit by a tornado, for which i’m grateful.  A couple of small towns not too far away did though, and i’m keeping them, and the people of Joplin, in my thoughts and prayers.  

8 Responses to “Soooooo Sleepy”

  1. ahiddenslave May 26, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Glad to hear you are safe aisha, maybe you should buy one of those radio, or keep and eye on the sky. be safe
    HSxx

    • aisha May 26, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks, HS, I’ll think about the radio. Although – we do have sirens that go off when there’s bad weather coming… 🙂 But I’ll stay safe! aisha

  2. angel May 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Your blog hates me sometimes.

    Okay…so…i’m attached. Officially. So you are not permitted to fly off in a tornado, fall off the face of the earth, implode, explode, or otherwise self destruct.

    And…bravo for teaching the kid reverse psychology 😀

    • aisha May 26, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

      Omg, Angel, you know that every strategy I ever used on her is coming straight back at me… it cracks me up.

      And.. laughing… thanks, I’ll try to be careful.

      I’m sorry my blog was uncooperative today – I’ll speak sternly to it.

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. thesubmissivebf May 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    If you buy the radio, make sure you get batteries. I have one in my hurricane supplies but I don’t have fresh batteries this year – YET 🙂
    Stay safe!!

    • aisha May 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      Thanks for the tip, Sbf – I’ll keep that in mind. And, um, go get some yourself, right?

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. Mick May 26, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Mick has a Fred Sanford attitude about Tornado warnings:

    “Come take me Lord!!!!”

    • aisha May 27, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      Yeah, I’m kind of in the same place with it, Mick. But you know, we go a long way to humor the important people in our lives….

      aisha

Leave a Reply

