Music Festival II

30 May

i have out of town guests this morning ~ a vanilla friend i’ve known for ever and her daughter, who’s almost grown now.  They came down from Where-Mick-and-Molly-Live for the music festival.  They’re still asleep, but i’ll keep this brief.

So last night at the music festival, i bought a dress – it’s a summery, um, kind of hippie looking dress – but it’s shorter than my usual dress, and very cute.  i had a fabulous Portobello mushroom sandwich, marinated in Italian seasoning and grilled while i watched.  i had a Graeter’s butter pecan ice cream cone, butter pecan in honor of my mother, who always used to get that flavor when i was a kid.

We talked a lot, walked around some, people-watched, danced a little.  And i picked up a man.

Mmmhmmm.  

Or he picked me up, depending on how you look at it

Actually, i met him for the first time at this same event last year.  He has a booth there, and the rest of the time, he has a little shop in my favorite part of town.  

He does – ok, if i say he’s an artist, you’ll get the wrong impression.  He is an artist, but it’s – an urban kind of art.  And he sells healing oils and incense and stuff like that.  He would like my hippie dress.

Anyhow.  We flirted last year, and that was fun.  He has a wonderful accent, and his flirty lines are closer to soulful than the usual.  Very seductive for me.  i was going to buy licorice root from him, but he was out.  He invited me to stop by his store and get some.

i did, and we flirted some more.  i thought about buying one of his pictures, but didn’t.  He told me to call him and we’d go have a picnic lunch.  i said i would.

But i didn’t.

i don’t know why.  

There’s some energy between us.  i thought about it.  i’ve thought about it since, when i drive past his store.

But, you know.  

He’s probably vanilla.  

And he made me a little nervous.  He’s kind of intense.  A little bit pushy.  

So when i saw him yesterday, and we chatted, he wanted to know why i didn’t come see him.  i say, “i don’t know,” with a little shrug.

He just nods.  “Here,” he says, “Put my number in your phone.  Go on, do it now.”  His voice is gentle, so that isn’t quite as commanding as it sounds when i write it.

When i hesitate, he says, “What?  You want me to put your number in my phone instead,” and he whips out his phone.  That makes me laugh, and without thinking about it, i do.  i give him my number.

Hmmm.

He says, “So now we get to know each other.  It’s about time.”  

i mutter something non-committal.

He says, “Did you hear me?  I said, ‘It’s about time’.”  

Yikes. 

i nod.  “i hear you,” i say.

So he calls me last night, while i’m still at the festival.  Of course i don’t hear my phone, but he leaves a message.  He just says he hopes i’m having a good evening, and that i can call him back if i want to.   He says otherwise he’ll call me Monday evening.

i’m tempted to go back by his booth for another round of flirtation, but i don’t.  {Thinking about recent posts by LM and Sin – there’s some rules about how to act in relationships behind that, isn’t there?}

And today, i have guests, and family coming for lunch, so he’s the last thing on my mind.  Right?

Ok, they might be sharing space with him in my head.  

But seriously, i’m wary.  Not rushing into anything, even in my own fantasy. Caution is my middle name.

{laughing…}

I almost forgot – it’s Memorial Day.  Thank you to all the soldiers who’ve defended our country, and all the soldiers serving us now. Your sacrifices aren’t forgotten. 

18 Responses to “Music Festival II”

  1. Jz May 30, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    A couple of years ago, a very attractive man was flirting a little with me in the grocery store. I was telling my friends about it later and they asked, “So, did you get his name?”
    “No, I got shy so I just walked away.”
    My friends sighed loudly.

    Reading this, I now know how they felt…
    We are truly funny creatures, us.

    • Nick May 30, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      So you did get his name, right?

      Sharing space in your head, sharing… hmmm I’ll bet

      So your fantasy is of course that he is a Dom, is it likely? Possibly, a bit pushy eh? Manipulated you effortlessly eh?

      hope you enjoy your call later

      N x

      • aisha May 30, 2011 at 9:54 am #

        @Nick,

        Well, that’s my fantasy – my fear is that he isn’t and that I won’t realize it til too late and I’ll get hurt.

        Sheesh.

        “It’s easier to live disappointed than to take a chance on being disappointed.”

        thanks!

        aisha

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      @Jz —

      O, that is funny ~ it’s so much more clear when it’s you than when it’s me though. i can easily see that you should have gotten his name.

      aisha

  2. Donna May 30, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Well Sweetie,

    It’s clear you’re interested. You’ve already pussyfooted around for a year. Just do it!

    Saying you are following old dating and relationship “rules” is a cop-out.

    Your ever gentle, helpful and demure friend,
    Donna

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Dear Donna ~

      But… but….

      Ok. Yes, ma’am.

      laughing…

      aisha

  3. nilla May 30, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Now *there* is the real story of your weekend….

    HUG,

    nilla

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      @’Nilla, Hmmm, I guess maybe, huh? {smiling} hugs, aisha

  4. angel May 30, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    He made you nervous. You used the words “intense” and “pushy” and your *still* think he is vanilla?

    Aisha, Aisha, Aisha….you are *KILLING* me over here.

    Your gut is telling you somethng. Neither option is that he is vanilla. Geeze.

    Go get that man. Post Haste.

    Oh, and if you take a walk on the wild side, the blonde could be fun too. 😀

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      @Angel,

      Ok, I get what you’re saying – I might even have thought it myself as I was writing this. But- But I’ve met intense pushy vanilla men before!

      Ok, {grins} there’s something happening there….

      But I think I’ll pass on the blonde, stunning though she is!

      aisha

      • angel May 30, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

        Please fill in the blank:
        A pushy vanilla man makes me feel ________.

        i bet anything you want that you did NOT just fill that blank in with the words “nervous” or “excited” or “powerful energy.”

  5. Naida May 30, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    aisha,
    I don’t have any therapists words of advice but I will say, YAY go for it!
    There are little things about how He is with you that are turning you on and making you think good things, why not feel good things too?
    Even if He is vanilla, wouldn’t the right person for you do what you needed? Because after all, wouldn’t you do almost anything for the right person too?
    It’s exciting and new, enjoy the moments as they come and worry about other things as they come too, not before 😉
    I am excited for you, wishing you everything you dream of xoxo Hugs

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      Dear Naida,

      You may not be a therapist, but basically you just gave me the same advice I gave you, didn’t you? To let myself feel what I feel without trying to stop it ahead of time, or worry about where it’s gonna take me.

      Yes, you’re right. Absolutely.

      Thanks,

      aisha

      • Naida May 30, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

        If the advise is good, it should be passed around a few times lol

  6. Bob May 30, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Caution is your middle name?? Since when? lol

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      HEY, Bob – Wait a minute – are you saying I’m not the epitome of cautious????

      laughing…

      Well, ok, maybe I’m not.

      aisha

  7. Mick May 30, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Donna was speaking for the entire UCTMW management team!

    Mick

    • aisha May 30, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      Thanks, Mick. Since once again, she’s right, I guess you get credit for that too. {smiling}

      aisha

Leave a Reply

