Looking Forward…

8 Jun

i’ll get back to my story, probably.  For the moment, just imagine me sitting there, still naked, composing my essay on the five reasons spankings are good for me.  

Hand-written, He insisted.  Neatly, in my best writing.  At least a paragraph explaining each reason.

Sigh.

In the meantime:

Sfp from Jumping On In, is definitely coming to visit me, right here inWhere-i-Live, 4th of July weekend.  i expect it will be a mostly vanilla visit, with maybe a munch or two thrown in.

Our local dungeon is having some zoning problems, so i’m not sure if the munch will be there or not.  But i know there will be a munch somewhere, and if Sfp wants to, we’ll be there.  

 

i’m excited.  Since i’m big on planning, i’m already sending her lists of things we could do.  

In other news, i registered for C.O.P.E.  The 2 day kink event in Ohio.  So i’m going.  For sure.  

It’s not til September, so that gives me plenty of time to worry about it.

i might not have done it if i couldn’t hear youall making those squawking chicken noises in the background.  What?  That wasn’t youall?

O.

Ok, i guess it was me.

…laughing…

But i’m committed now.  So if any of youall are going, let me know ~ i’d love to see you there.

Even in the midst of grief and loss and sorrow, life goes on.   Sin, i’m thinking of you too, in light of the tragic death of your friend and boss.  i know i’ve quoted from this before, but it seems particularly apt today.  

“Then a woman said, “Speak to us of Joy and Sorrow.” 
      And he answered: 
      Your joy is your sorrow unmasked. 
      And the selfsame well from which your laughter rises was oftentimes filled with your tears. 
      And how else can it be? 
      The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain. 
      Is not the cup that hold your wine the very cup that was burned in the potter’s oven? 
      And is not the lute that soothes your spirit, the very wood that was hollowed with knives?
      When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy. 
      When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight. 
      Some of you say, “Joy is greater than sorrow,” and others say, “Nay, sorrow is the greater.” 
      But I say unto you, they are inseparable. 
      Together they come, and when one sits alone with you at your board, remember that the other is asleep upon your bed. 
      Verily you are suspended like scales between your sorrow and your joy.
      Only when you are empty are you at standstill and balanced. 
      When the treasure-keeper lifts you to weigh his gold and his silver, needs must your joy or your sorrow rise or fall.” 

~~ Kahlil Gibran

16 Responses to “Looking Forward…”

  1. striving for peace June 8, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    I’m insanely excited about it!

    (I’m a bit less of a planner than you are — but I’m sure we’ll both adapt)

    hugs!

    sfp

    • aisha June 8, 2011 at 6:57 am #

      Omigosh, Sfp, does that mean I shouldn’t send you the Outline of Options, with the color coded Decision Tree and rating scales with a factorial analysis of fun potential?

      LOL

      aisha

      • sin June 8, 2011 at 7:41 am #

        Aisha I want you to come and list and graph and colour code my whole life.

      • Jz June 8, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

        y’all scare me sometimes…
        both of you.

        (or, as we say in my neck of the woods, “bo’ uh yuhz”

      • aisha June 9, 2011 at 6:02 am #

        Too funny, Jz. Cute.

      • striving for peace June 8, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

        you’re going to have to have liquor.

        yeah.

        liquor

        sfp

      • aisha June 9, 2011 at 6:05 am #

        I’m going to have to have liquor???

        Ok.

        I can do that.

        Will this liquor be for me to drink, or will I be providing it for you, or are we both going to be indulging?

        And what kind of liquor? Are you thinking margaritas and other mixed drinks for happy hour? Bourbon in a flask that we carry around so we can nip on it all day? Shots of some sick sweet combination of liquors, like jelly beans?

        LMK

        aisha

  2. sin June 8, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Thank you for the quote on joy and sorrow. I know that it’s true. But somehow today, all I can think of is kids without their mom and the unfairness of it all. I expect I will get to a better, more accepting place about it, but I’m not there yet. And yet, I do know that sorrow shapes us, makes us look in new places, makes us stronger.
    sin

    • aisha June 8, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Dear Sin,

      I don’t think Gibran means that you shouldn’t feel the sorrow. I think he means the greater your capacity for joy, the stronger you feel the sorrow, and vice versa. Acceptance comes in its own time, not ours. (That sounded uber philosophical, didn’t it?) Where you are is exactly where you need to be right now.

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. ahiddenslave June 8, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Oh aisha, i am turning green as I type:)
    HSxx

    • aisha June 8, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      @HS, That makes me want to come see you! aisha

  4. Alujna June 8, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    I love the poem… It’s wonderful.
    hope you both have fun!
    I think most of us are at least a little bit jealous…lol

    • aisha June 8, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      @Alujna,

      Glad you like the poem – I love The Prophet! And thanks for the good wishes!

      aisha

  5. Mick June 8, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Maybe you should get Judge Miguel assigned to that zoning dispute. I am sure he would require a site inspection. Mick

    • aisha June 9, 2011 at 6:00 am #

      @Mick – LOL – yes, I’m sure Judge Miguel would require a site inspection. And probably a sample of typical patrons to inspect too. And then his brother would want to get in on it. And ~~

      Um, No. Let’s just stop before it even gets started. Thanks, but no thanks.

      sincerely,

      aisha

  6. gofish9317 June 11, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    i am just sitting here imagining you sitting there naked!!!!!!!! It makes it hard to read the rest.

Leave a Reply

