In Memory…

9 Jun

…of my mother.  A friend of mine shared this prayer with me last night at the funeral home, which was as close to a celebration of my mother’s life as you can get.  May she rest in peace.

Native American Prayer

Do not stand at my grave and weep.

        I am not there.

        I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.

I am the diamond glint on the snow.

I am the sunlight-ripened grain,

I am the gentle autumn rain,

When you wake in the morning hush.

I am the swift uplifting rush of quiet birds in circling flight.

I am the oft starlight at night.

Do not stand at my grave and weep.

        I am not there.

        I do not sleep.

 

 

16 Responses to “In Memory…”

  1. ahiddenslave June 9, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    aisha, what a lovely thing to share with you,and now here is one for you. HSxx

    May God give you…
    For every storm, a rainbow,
    For every tear, a smile,
    For every care, a promise,
    And a blessing in each trial.
    For every problem life sends,
    A faithful friend to share,
    For every sigh, a sweet song,
    And an answer for each prayer

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:17 am #

      That’s so beautiful, HS. And really, that’s how it works too.

      Thank you!

      hugs,

      aisha

  2. Mick June 9, 2011 at 7:00 am #

    A lovely thought, Aisha.

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:17 am #

      Thanks, Mick! aisha

  3. sin June 9, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    That’s lovely isn’t it? When my sister died they read that, and it meant something to me too.
    sin

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      O, how cool, that it connects with your experience too. Thinking of you, Sin…

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. vanillamom June 9, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    This is the one crystal clear memory i have of my mom’s service, at the graveside. I remember just…breaking…when this was read…it is a beautiful prayer.

    The wheel of life moves onward, despite all that happens to us on the journey…yet she lives on in you and yours…

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:20 am #

      Omigosh, ‘Nilla, that’s pretty cool! Yes, it is beautiful.

      And yes, she does live on. I get more like her all the time, which is just a wee bit scary sometimes, but not a bad thing.

      Thanks for the comment… for sharing your experience and thoughts.

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. angel June 9, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    i love you, sugar.

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:21 am #

      Thank you, Angel. 🙂 Love you too. aisha

  6. Naida June 9, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    That is beautiful, we also chose that poem for my grandma’s service. I was watching the Dr.s yesterday and they were talking about Alzheimer’s and for those that went through loosing someone with it, they said it was “a long goodbye”. I’m never really good at saying things at a time like this, I heard, “I’m sorry for your loss” so much when my husband passed away that I can’t say it to anyone for fear it will make them angry for hearing those same words over and over. I am thinking lots of good thoughts for you and your family. From reading your blog and your comments too me I know you are strong and can get through pretty much anything 🙂 Here’s one more for you too 😉

    The tide recedes
    but leaves behind bright seashells on the sand.
    The sun goes down
    but gentle warmth still lingers on the land.
    The music stops
    and yet it echoes on in sweet refrains;
    for every joy that passes,
    something beautiful remains.

    I don’t know who it’s from or what it is from, I just like it 🙂

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:24 am #

      Dear Naida,

      Yes, I can easily imagine how those condolences start to grate, and I really appreciate your comment and your sharing your thoughts.

      I love the poem; it’s so beautiful. And it does seem to speak to me now. Thank you so much.

      hugs,

      aisha

  7. littlemonkey June 9, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    This is lovely. Sending warm thoughts your way.

    • aisha June 10, 2011 at 6:25 am #

      Thank you, LM. Appreciate that a lot. hugs, aisha

  8. gofish9317 June 11, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    beautiful

    • aisha June 11, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      Thank you… aisha

Leave a Reply

