On the road again…

11 Jun

In an hour or so, I’ll actually be “on the road again…” so i have to sing a few bars of it as i go.

i love to travel.

When i was in my early 20’s, i thought i might want to be a gypsy.  

Where-i-Live is actually pretty small, in some ways, and i had begun to feel like every where i went, someone knew me.  i was tired of going to the grocery and hearing someone call my name.  It might be someone i went to high school with, or someone i used to babysit for, an old teacher, or an ex-boyfriend.  i was tired of it.

i wanted to go someplace no one knew me.

I packed up my car, a little white Mustang i’d bought used, and left home.  The plan was to travel til i started getting low on money, then get a job for a while, and move on.

i was waiting tables back then, so it wasn’t a completely unreasonable plan.

i drove through Tennessee, across North Carolina, ended up in Florida.  i crisscrossed my way through the state for about a month, til i ended up, as one invariably would, in Key West.

i loved Key West.

But.

 i had discovered that traveling in the US is not like traveling in Europe.  In Europe, if i was standing in front of some monument, or fountain or statue, i could comment to the family next to me that it was beautiful, or so cool, and they’d agree and we’d chat a little, and it was all warm and friendly.

That didn’t happen in the States.  At least in the ’70’s, for me, it just didn’t work.  If i said something out loud, i think people thought i was crazy, and they were more likely to move away from me.

So i got lonesome.  Probably i would have anyhow.  But as much as i enjoyed the trip, it began to seem that the only people interested in me were single men who were not so interested in discussing the scenery.

Sigh.

So i ended up in Key West wishing that someone knew my name.

And i was getting low on money. 

i had to make a decision.  What did i want to do?

i tried to be reasonable, i weighed the pros and cons – but i just kept thinking, “i need to be where someone knows my name.”

So i headed home.  Drove straight through, whizzing past places i’d explored on the way down.

Laughing… so i didn’t become a gypsy.  But this morning, as i get ready to go back to Florida, i remember those days.  And i hum a few bars ~~

“On the road again…”

14 Responses to “On the road again…”

  1. sin June 11, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    This makes me smile Aisha – though I have to tell you that I talk to strangers all the time (except for single men!) and they usually smile and talk back to me. I assume you haven’t stopped in the intervening years? Have a good trip – come home relaxed and rested.
    sin

    • aisha June 12, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      Canadians are friendlier than Yanks. Just saying…

      laughing – of course I haven’t stopped. I talk to strangers in line at the grocery… can’t help it.

      Thanks,

      aisha

  2. Mick June 11, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Have a great trip, Aisha…I have a similar song I save for such moments…. will post it later.

    • aisha June 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks, Mick – I LOVE that!

      aisha

  3. Mick June 11, 2011 at 7:17 am #

  4. Alujna June 11, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Have a good trip, Aisha!

  5. ahiddenslave June 11, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    May the road rise up to meet you.
    May the wind always be at your back.
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    and rains fall soft upon your fields.
    And until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.
    and when i am sober enough to read your posting….but for now this is what i send you, with love xxx
    HSxx

    • aisha June 12, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Thanks, HS, that’s beautiful – I love it.

      As for when you become sober – I found all kinds of quotes about sobriety, but thought I’d share this one from William James:

      “The sway of alcohol over mankind is unquestionably due to its power to stimulate the mystical faculties of human nature, usually crushed to earth by the cold facts and dry criticisms of the sober hour.”

      hugs,

      aisha

  6. sl June 11, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Just passing by ur blog, and have a good trip Aisha 🙂

    • aisha June 12, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Thanks, Sl, for reading, for commenting, and for the warm thoughts!

      aisha

  7. nancy June 11, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Have a fabulous trip and go ahead and try talking to a stranger now and then; it can’t hurt!
    hugs~~

    • aisha June 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Thanks, Nancy ~ really, I couldn’t not talk to strangers if I tried!!

      hugs,

      aisha

  8. littlemonkey June 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Lol! I used to have a little white mustang too. And I wanted to be a gypsy, but never did go wander….

    Have fun on your trip!

    • aisha June 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      @LM –

      Thanks!

      I bet we all have a little gypsy in us…

      hugs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

