Friends

11 Oct

i am a lucky woman.  Even before i met Sir X, which sort of makes my cup runneth over, i was already a lucky woman.

i have a good life.  i live in community with people who care about me and care about each other and care about the world.

Well, i also live in community with people who’ve been dreadfully hurt by people who don’t care about each other or themselves or the world.  Working closely with those people ~ the ones who’ve been hurt ~ deepens my understanding of who we are and what we mean to each other.

Living close to people who know hurt and being allowed inside their world is a gift, and i’m deeply blessed.   i get to watch people go from being so shut down that the only feeling they know is anger, to ~ yesterday, a woman who is writing poetry now.  

She read me a poem she’d written to her mother, expressing all the hurt of her childhood, vowing to make it different for her kids.  She not only read me the poem, she read it in a small group of people.  Three years ago, she would never have believed that could ever happen.

And if sometimes i think i will drown in the emotions around me, it’s ok, i don’t, because the circles of communities around me hold me up.  Like a big old life preserver, they encircle me.

Of course, the blogging community is a huge piece of that, and all of you whom i’ve grown to love.  For me, Mick and Molly, Sin, and ‘Nilla will always be the Big Three in my mind, because they were my first commenters, the “rock stars of the blog world” dropping into my blog… it was such a thrill.

And now i’ve met Mick and Molly, and ‘Nilla, in real life, and i guess that means you’re next, Sin!  

Striving for Peace widened my circle early, back when she was writing on a different blog, in her relationship with Mr. C.  She was one of the first bloggers i connected with outside of the blog through email, and i totally loved meeting her earlier this summer.

For some reason, the memory of being at the Fourth of July picnic with Sfp really stands out in my mind, it was such a peaceful feeling, and i felt so close to her ~ and  i’m hoping she comes back sometime…

And the rest of you ~ i hate to start naming people ’cause you know i’ll forget someone really important, but Kelly, and Sbf, and angel, and HS, and Greengirl, and andi, and jazmine, who used to be ali, and Blue, and Sky, and K, and Faithful, and ewoman, and Jz, and Xantu, and strictnstern, and Tip, and William, and Stephani, and mouse, and so many people ~ and if you’re not on this list, i promise you i’ll be mentally kicking myself in the car on my way to work for not thinking of you at this moment.

But i was thinking about all that, the circles of community and support,  when ‘Nilla was here.  And then when Donna and Bill came too ~ 

sigh…. you already know that ‘Nilla is funny and insightful and bubbly and exciting and kind and compassionate.  Well, Donna is all that too, in her own way, with a heavier dose of sarcasm and cynicism thrown in for spice.  

And Bill is this amazing presence ~ which makes him sound all stiff and stuffy, when he’s not at all.  He’s relaxed and kind and friendly, and sits back and listens a lot before throwing in his own wise and funny perspective…

i think i might be rambling now, ’cause i can’t find the right words.  

Having ‘Nilla here was such a treat.  We chatted and blogged and did stuff and talked about it and blogged and chatted and went did some more stuff…  It was relaxed and comfortable and fun and exciting.

Adding Donna and Bill to the mix just upped the pleasure exponentially.  We already know each other, know deep, intense things about each other, and being together is just incredibly right.

‘Nilla said, at some point early on, something about it seeming a little odd to be meeting people who had ~ literally ~ seen pictures of her naked ass. And yet, she added, it didn’t feel odd or uncomfortable at all.

It was a little bit like this:

“In a true you-and-I relationship, we are present mindfully, nonintrusively, the way we are present with things in nature.We do not tell a birch tree it should be more like an elm. We face it with no agenda, only an appreciation that becomes participation: ‘I love looking at this birch’ becomes ‘I am this birch’ and then ‘I and this birch are opening to a mystery that transcends and holds us both.” 
~~ David Richo

And i’ve got to go get ready for work…  But it’s an experience to be treasured, being in community with people who can share all the aspects of your self, and if you haven’t experienced it before, i hope you do.

 You can always come visit me…  {smiling…}

10 Responses to “Friends”

  1. sin October 11, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Does that leave me as the mysterious one of the Big Three?

    • aisha October 11, 2011 at 7:03 am #

      @Sin,

      Laughing… yes, I suppose it does! Makes you almost Garbo-esque, doesn’t it?

      hug,

      aisha

  2. Striving for Peace October 11, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    I loved that peaceful moment too
    and

    I’ll be back

    just wait and see.

    sfp

    • aisha October 11, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      @Sfp,

      Awesome! I’ll look forward to that for sure!!

      aisha

  3. Bill October 11, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Good friends are like magic, they are able to fill that empty scary place in your world when it’s needed. They don’t ask for anything for it, just for you to be there when it gets scary for them, you are part of that world now and were glad you’re here!

    • aisha October 11, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      @Bill,

      Yes, it is pretty magical… and comforting and reassuring… and all kinds of good things. I’m glad we’re all in the together!

      aisha

  4. Andi October 11, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    It always impresses me when people take the time to actually look around and notice the good. And stay truly but uncallously aware of the bad. 🙂 I’m proud of you for that and a boat load of other things.

    • aisha October 11, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      @Andi,

      Thank you – that means a lot to me coming from you. I’m glad I know you….

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. Jazmine October 11, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I have loved knowing you and really and truly want to meet you in person one day. Hugs…

    • aisha October 11, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Yeah, me too! Maybe I’ll head down your way…. hugs, aisha

Leave a Reply

