Back at Home…

25 Oct

My cats are driving me crazy ~ not sure if they’re happy to see me or mad at me, but they’ve been in and out of the house 500 times.  They’re meowing at the top of their lungs, rubbing on me, and just generally being pitiful.   Good grief, is that what it’s like to have a needy sub???

Yikes.

i was reading an article on Dominant Drop, by a Domme named Mistress Steele, but don’t have the web link for it.  Which makes it pretty useless for my purposes this morning.  But it was excellent.

So i’ve got five minutes to write this.  

No time to write about my next class, which was Molly Devon of “Screw the Roses, Send me the Thorns.”  Her presentation was more discussion than presentation, and there was some interesting tension in the room.  Some of that was around the question of whether or not our kink roles are innate or not.

i was a little annoyed myself in there with a gentleman who seemed to believe it was based on hormones and hard-wired because boys don’t really want to play with Barbie’s.  Ok, he didn’t say it quite like that, but close enough to annoy me.

i just pointed out that gender and toy preferences are on a continuum, not binary points, and that not all girls like Barbie’s either, and not all boys like trucks.  But then i quickly added that submission and Dominance don’t actually follow gender lines anyhow either, because that’s the real point for me.

It it were based on how much testosterone you have, all men would be Dom’s, only women would be subs, and the 50’s would have worked.

But i want to tie that discussion to the discussion here with Ms. Constance, and to the input from you all, so that’s not going to happen in the next three minutes…

O, i know what i can talk about!

Sir X.  

Someone private messaged me wondering why Sir X hadn’t gone to this kink event with me either.  It was a good question, and i imagine she’s not the only one wondering.  

We talked about it, but He had some prior commitments over the weekend that he’d made to friends before he met me.  And because i was going straight from the other workshop, He would have had to drive separately or fly up, and it just didn’t seem like a reasonable choice.

We’ve been in touch, thank goodness for 21st century communication.  He was quick to answer text messages particularly, so that was nice and some immediate gratification.

We’ll see each other again Wednesday night.  i really missed Him Saturday night, so i’m looking forward to tomorrow.

And in the meantime, i need to be focusing on what i need to do this morning…. got to get to work super early to complete some stuff that was due yesterday.

Sigh.  

It’s too bad i can’t make a living going to workshops.  But, i think i need to develop my own workshop or finish my book on PTSD and trauma ~ then at least i could present at events and wouldn’t have to pay to go! 

11 Responses to “Back at Home…”

  1. Sweet girl October 25, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    hi aisha!
    Glad you’ve enjoyed your time away 🙂
    I was sitting here typing how I was sorry I couldn’t find a link that actually worked when suddenly I did!
    So here it is: http://www.steel-door.com/Dominant_Drop.html

    • aisha October 25, 2011 at 5:57 am #

      Thank you, Sweet girl!!! It really was a well done piece, and worth reading. Thanks, again!

      aisha

      • Sweet girl October 25, 2011 at 6:00 am #

        my pleasure 🙂

  2. Sam October 25, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    or cats act out after we’ve been gone too. and you have more patience for workshops than I do. I’m more of a “hands on” learner. Sam

    • aisha October 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      @Sam,

      Omigosh, you didn’t have to leave the cats at home under your relocation program, did you???? If so, they’re gonna be really freaked.

      Yep, you’re right, I do love workshops. Someone at work today was saying the same thing. But I’ve got nothing against hands on learning either!

      aisha

  3. Sky October 25, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    The Steel Door has many interesting articles. For a newbie like me, it’s a wealth of information!

    Your cats sound like they are happy to have you home 🙂

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about your classes and discussions. You make u’s feel like we are right there with you in the class! And I enjoy hearing your perspective on different subjects 🙂

    Glad you’re home safe!

    Take care. Sky

    • aisha October 25, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      @Sky,

      Yes, it was your blog today where I read the reference to the article, but your’ blog’s private so I didn’t link to it. I didn’t have time to look at much of it, but will later. What I saw looked really cool.

      Thanks for the kind feedback on my blog!

      I think my cats are happy to have me home, I’m pretty happy to be here too!

      aisha

  4. MissNaida October 25, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    “Screw the Roses, Send me the Thorns.” This was the book that made me feel okay about ttwd. I read a lot of it in 2004, lost it (or lent it out) and never saw it again. I loved it for me as a beginner not knowing anything at all and certainly didn’t want to be tied up or whipped! That will always be “my first” hehe. Would have been cool to be there with you.

    Oh cats, I don’t have any but my dog meows and freaks out a lot when she wants attention lol. They are glad to see you and yes I imagine that is exactly what a truly needy sub would seem like. Not a cute-needy 😉 sub.

    I’m excited for you to see Sir X again too, it can’t be easy missing a date! But I’m sure tomorrow will make you forget about it 😀

    Gl with the work catch up today.

    xo

    • aisha October 25, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      O, cool, that the book connects with your history! Mine was A Commonsense Guide to Kinky Sex – I think there’s always a special place in our hearts for the first book that made us feel ok about kink. It would be fun to take a poll on what book did it… yeah it would have been fun if you’d been there!

      Yes, I’ve already gotten some instructions from Sir X for tomorrow… i have a feeling it really will make up for lost time!

      Thanks so much on commenting, I love to hear from you.

      aisha

  5. vanillamom October 25, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    once more behind the 8-ball here…sigh….i’m reading, i promise i am reading *every post* but finding time to comment, not so much. Left one on sins blog but not here…my bad….

    i admit it was amusing to me (my badX2) that the gay man wound up at the “wrong place”…and i would have had empathy for him at some point…but it might have made me laugh, too.

    Then again, i’m bad like that, you know…?

    HUGS

    nilla

    • aisha October 26, 2011 at 4:58 am #

      @’Nilla,

      It’s ok – you know i love your comments, but I don’t want you to worry about it, you’ve got plenty going on as it is. If you miss me once, it’ll be ok. Twice and I might start getting a complex, but I know how life can get in the way of blogging stuff!

      Laughing… yes, poor gay guy was kind of amusing, but o, if you could have seen how glum he was that first meal he sat next to me!

      You are bad, this is one of the many reasons we love you.

      aisha

Leave a Reply

