Not Just Laundry

31 Oct

 

 


i started a post on the sensual humiliation class i went to with Dan and dawn, but there’s too much material about that to write it today.

i spent way too much time already this morning revising some minutes for a group i belong to.  We met last Tuesday.  i’m the secretary.  i promised to do the minutes Saturday morning.

i did start them Saturday.  And i’m only 2 days late.  In the greater scheme of things, that’s not bad.

Not finishing what i start ~ you’d think i had some particular form of ADHD the way i leave loose ends dangling.  And it’s things that matter to me just as much as things that don’t.

i still want to blog about whether or not domination/submission is innate or learned.  In my vanilla blog, i started a series that i left hanging.  The Major has fallen off my to-do list.   

i need to buy a ladder so i can hang my quilt.

i never followed up on the job opportunity from months ago.

My basement is not going to clean itself out.

In my fantasy, i have a Dom who helps me see these things through to completion.  Actually, Sir X did say something to me the other day ~ asked me about the vanilla blog thing i’d been writing about ~ which prompted me to think about getting back to it.

But i haven’t done it.

It’s difficulty detaching, i think.  Not a lack of attention but an over-attention.  Not a lack of ability to stay on task, but trouble shifting.

So ~ for example ~ if i start to clean my stove, intending to wipe it off, i may end up with a piece of paper towel wrapped around a toothpick, trying to get the last tiny bit of grunge off a hidden corner.  That over-attention to detail.  

My solution?   Procrastination!

When i procrastinate,  i have limited time to spend on a task, i can’t lock into it to that extent.  i’m forced to settle for “good enough” which is ~ often ~ good enough.

But that’s not an effective long-term strategy.   

Give me a list of things to do and i have to switch tasks frequently.  Otherwise ~ like this weekend.  My goal was to unpack and do laundry.  i ended up reorganizing my closet.   Moving shelves and a chest of drawers.  Great ~

~ but two loads of laundry are still waiting to be folded.  


That was my original task, just to get caught up on laundry.

Ok, so how boring is this post?  

Laughing…  

Here’s a tiny connection to kink.  Someone at Kinky Kollege ~ Barbara Carrellas maybe?  ~ commented that submissives need help prioritizing.  That we “can’t” prioritize.

And i put “can’t” in quotes, because clearly, that’s exaggerated, of course we can and do a lot of the time.

But maybe i’m not so good at it sometimes.   i know what’s important. i know what i need to do.

i can’t pull myself away from whatever i’m doing until ~ oooh.  Until it’s perfect?  Is this just perfectionism rearing its ugly head?

Sigh.

i don’t know.  i think i can’t detach.  Whatever catches my attention is what gets my attention.  And i just keep going on that til something else catches my attention.

AND i don’t have a real ending for this post.  So i guess i’ll have to keep writing forever… or until it’s gotten so late that i’ve GOTTA go.  Which would be~

~ o, yeah ~ NOW.

Still laughing…

{And i had to come back to say that ‘Nilla and Faithful are in the middle of the winter storm, both without power, but both safe and doing ok.  i don’t know who else among my blogging buddies is in that, but i’m hoping you are all safe and warm.}

19 Responses to “Not Just Laundry”

  1. Sam October 31, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    I can’t forget the task of taking the binding implements off the bed post before the cleaner uppers arrive tomorrow.

    • aisha October 31, 2011 at 7:38 am #

      Yeah, and I didn’t even know that yurt-dwellers had cleaner-uppers… lol

      aisha

  2. Striving for Peace October 31, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    weird — I was playing with a post on procrastination yesterday

    I’m terrible about it

    awful

    sfp

    • aisha October 31, 2011 at 8:01 am #

      Great minds work on the same lines, right?

      I’d love to hear your thoughts on it – but if you put off writing it for too long and never finish it~ I’ll understand!

      aisha

  3. vanillamom October 31, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Flylady, flylady, flylady.

    i know some people hate, loate and despise her. HOWEVER…what she does, works.

    The trick is in the timer.

    15 minutes MAX to work on a problem issue. Timer rings, go shut it off…instant re-direct. And frankly? You’d be amazed at what gets done in 15 minutes.

    As FL says…it didn’t all get messy in one day, one hour…it just takes a bit of “nibbling” to get it under control.

    I remember that Shel Silverstein poem…”Melinda Mae” (which i call “how to eat a whale”!)

    Have you heard of tiny Melinda Mae,
    Who ate a monstrous whale?
    She thought she could,
    She said she would,
    So she started in right at the tail.

    And everyone said,”You’re much too small,”
    But that didn’t bother Melinda at all,
    She took little bites and she shewed very slow,
    Just like a little girl should…

    …and eighty-nine years later she ate that whale
    Because she said she would!!!

    Written by Shel Silverstein (1930-1999)

    PS…LOVE you!

    nilla

    • aisha October 31, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Dear ‘Nilla,

      Yes! I remember that poem… and actually you told me about flylady before, and apparently I did like some of my clients do and said,’ O, yeah thanks, great idea i’ll check it out” and then didn’t do anything with the information…

      Hmmm.

      Guess I’d better follow up this time. {They say that too. But I really mean it!}

      hugs,

      love you too,

      aisha

    • perfectlips November 1, 2011 at 10:52 am #

      +1 for Flylady. We do the 15mins thing. Do they do the “I’m so proud of you!” biro? More Time Moms too (unless they are the same people).

      PL

      • aisha November 1, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

        The “I’m so proud of you!” biro??? And More Time Moms???? Now I’m curious… and I’ll have to check out Flylady! Thanks.

  4. Bill October 31, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Laundry if left alone will multiply, I’ve seen it happen way to often. As for me, if i make a list i get it done, if not, oh well, later!

    • aisha October 31, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      @Bill,

      Yes, it does multiply! i’ m glad that happens in other people’s houses too!

      And I can do that “oh, well” thing too – that’s how so much ends up left undone in my life! laughing…

      aisha

  5. Conina October 31, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I have no trouble prioritizing. My friends have even asked me for help prioritizing their stuff.

    It’s that, in my life, anyway, that makes submission so powerful. I don’t have to do it anymore. My brain, normally on overdrive, full of lists of things that need doing in their proper order, hones to this razor edge of focus and there’s nothing to think about, no priorities except the ones he imposes on me.

    I do have the thing though where I overdo it. I can’t just clean the bathroom, if it’s not completely perfect I am disappointed in myself and so I do put things like that off. nilla’s 15 minute timer thing sounds perfect for me in that regard.

    • aisha October 31, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

      @Conina,

      Yes. That’s part of the beauty of TTWD – that slipping into being all about pleasing him… sigh… nothing quite like it.

      And yeah, it’s not that i can’t prioritize, same here – i can make lists and organize – it’s the follow through that gets me.

      Good luck with the timer thing!

      BTW, I visited your blog a little while ago – very, very hot – o, very cool too!

      aisha

  6. Faithful October 31, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Wish I had words of wisdom to help, but with the cleaning OCD I have, I am afraid that I am the “Master” of cleanliness, organization and prioritization. I grew up in a household where beds were made as soon as you got up, dishes were NEVER in the sink and everything was always in its place. So for me, I don’t know of another way of life. My father used to vacuum AFTER the cleaning lady left the house.. SERIOUSLY!!!

    I do know that because my house is in order- it allows me to be productive at work and when I do go out or spend time with my Son or Master I can do so with my complete attention because nothing is left on my mind to do… (I hope that makes sense)

    I know I am extreme and over the top – and YES- many would disagree with my way, but it works for me.

    Find what middleground works for you and doesn’t stress you out.

    On a Positive note.. POWER IS BACK ON as of 10:30 EST- and so I can head home tomorrow finally, after 3 days at my Sister’s house. Still no schools and it truly looks like a War Zone- but I am safe and healthy and that really is all that matters….

    and YES tomorrow-I will spend cleaning my house!! 🙂

    ~faithful

    • vanillamom October 31, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

      if you werent home, at least your house didnt get dirty, right? Hope you find all okay when you get home. i was tired of being pioneer woman after 30 hours…and just tired of snow…at least in October!

      nilla

      having a huge insomnia attack…

      • Faithful November 1, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

        Hi nilla/aisha- Well the first 36 hours I was here.. and alot of it in the dark, which meant lots of snow and dirt tracking in as well. So now I have been home for 12 hours and my house is once again spotless, everything put in its place and my family and pets all safe. Wish I could say the same for my town and my neighbors- many which I am begging to come stay with me. I am one of the lucky few with power. NO Schools for the entire week. Tomorrow is another day and hopefully more Power restored for those in need. Puts it all in perspective huh? Yes a clean house is important (to me) – but health and safety even more.

        My first call this morning- my electrician.. I am getting me a Generator. I won’t go through this again!

        Master being so far away is more stressed than I. It is tough when they want to protect you and Mother Nature has other plans.

        Hope all is well on your end this November night!

        ~faithful

      • vanillamom November 2, 2011 at 7:35 am #

        i’m so sorry you were so hard hit. There are still wires down here, though my street has power, many still do not. I took a walk around my neighborhood last evening with the pooch, and found that every single home had tree limbs down…large ones. Not a single house was spared some form of tree damage. One street had wires laying across the road and a big snow bank right across the road where the plow had to stop.

        The snow is almost gone from my front yard, yet there is still snow in the back and side yards. And the piles of snow from shoveling are still here, too. Unlike other early snows, this has not melted away overnight…it will likely be Fri or Saturday before we are snow-free.

        Your town has been transformed, and it sucks. I grieve for you, faithful. I know how hard it is to see that (we had a wicked ice storm here 4 years ago that did massive damage)…and i grieve for the loss of my own two trees…

        i’m glad that YOU are safe, and warm. My Master is still without power; and we have only spoken 10 words since last Thursday, before his phone died on him last night.

        Hugs,

        nilla

  7. aisha November 2, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    @Faithful,

    Well, i’m glad you’re back home and have everything back the way you want it. Nice that you’re able to offer help to folks around you.

    I’m sure it is hard on both of you, being separated form your Master!

    I hope your generator plans work out well.

    Take care,

    aisha

  8. Giggling Bunny November 3, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Ugh dont remind me. I have so much laundry piling up! =( That’s the bad thing about having so many clothes lol

    • aisha November 3, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      @GB ~ Poor baby, mine seem to pile up without having so many clothes – I really don’t get that!!! aisha

Leave a Reply

