A New Week Begins

5 Dec

This week… i will stay caught up with paperwork.  Yes, I will.

This week… i will not eat unhealthy high carb, high sugar food that gives me a buzz and then drops me like a brick.  Not even if it’s dancing on the table in the staff lounge, calling my name.

This week… i will clean off my desk at work.  And at home.  Not necessarily get everything done, but find a home for it until it’s done rather than leaving it splayed out on my desk like the ruins of  a paper explosion.  i’ll do it in 15 minute increments like ‘Nilla’s flylady says to.

{Waves – Hi, ‘Nilla…}

This week… i will exercise every day.  Every single day.  Even if it means i don’t have a good blog post.  Even if it means i don’t get to read or comment on OPB.  Even if ~ i don’t know, even if whatever.

This week… i will remember to be mindful, to stay in the present moment often.   i’ll try not to regret the past or worry needlessly about the future.  When i realize i’ m not being mindful, i won’t get mad at myself or think i’m stupid, i’ll just gently remind myself to do it.   i’ll breathe and bring my attention back to now.

This week…  i will remember this quote:

“If we are peaceful, if we are happy, we can smile and blossom like a flower, and everyone in our family, our entire society, will benefit from our peace.” 
― Thich Nhat HanhBeing Peace

10 Responses to “A New Week Begins”

  1. abby December 5, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Good Luck, sounds like a heavy load. I love the staying in the moment, it is one thing I am working on also! abby

    • aisha December 5, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      Hi, Abby,

      Thanks for reading, and commenting!

      Yeah, staying in the moment is a challenge ~ but worth it, I think.

      And i think if I can do the things I’ve said here, that my load will actually be a lot lighter. But we’ll see.

      Thanks, again,

      aisha

  2. vanillamom December 5, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    jumping back in with both feet i see (laughing)

    that is a lot of “orders” you are giving yourself.

    15 minutes a day…yes…that will help tons.

    but you know…even a 10 minute walk (morning, evening) is beneficial, right?

    you can even add steps to your day to help…park further away from the office, so you must walk a few extra minutes, stairs rather than elevators, yada yada….

    you can do it!

    and breathing is the most important thing…being mindful of the gift of breath, filling the belly, releasing the negative with every breath out…thats a great start!

    nilla

    • aisha December 5, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      Omg, I just did a big ole long response to this, hit the wrong key, and it totally disappeared. Trying again…

      @’Nilla,

      Yes, mindful breathing is at the heart of so many things. Since i preach it a lot at work, I figure the least I can do is practice it.

      As for the exercise – I used to exercise half an hour every day. About 6 days/week. I know that I feel better when I do that. In fact – all the things on my list today will make me feel better if I frigging do them. That’s all i’m saying.

      hugs, lots of them,

      aisha

  3. Bill December 5, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Good luck with this, breaking in a new habit is hard!

    • aisha December 5, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks, Bill! No doubt… i appreciate the support! aisha

  4. lil December 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I think that being in the moment is a very important head space to cultivate. I’m absolutely terrible at it. But still…lol.

    • aisha December 5, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      @lil,

      Laughing… it’s hard to do i know. Really. Marcia Linehan, who’s the creator of dialectical behavior therapy and one of my role models, says she struggled with it and didn’t like it for a long time.

      But yeah, it’s helpful.

      aisha

  5. Faithful December 5, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    looks like you are starting some New Year’s Resolutions early.

    Good for you!

    ~faithful

    • aisha December 5, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      @Faithful,

      It does sound like that, doesn’t it??? laughing..

      aisha

Leave a Reply

