Blah, blah, blah

17 Dec

i’m a little annoyed with myself.  

Here i am, a week before Christmas and i haven’t bought a single present ~ of course, i have very few to buy.  But still.

My Christmas tree is up but not decorated.  That’s almost become a tradition for me ~ buy it and get it in the stand one weekend, decorate the next.

No Christmas cookies are made, other than the ones i made for the Great Cookie Exchange, which i took to work.  BTW, at the Xmas potluck we had at work, someone brought her container of cookie exchange cookies ~ o, my!  What a treat!  

In terms of kink, not much going on.  Sir X and i are seeing each other tonight and i’m looking forward to that, albeit with a little trepidation.

i’m working on keeping an open mind.  i don’t want to swing from {maybe} assuming the relationship was more than it is to assuming it’s less than it is.  You know, {laughing…} it is what it is.  i’m not trying to jump to conclusions or close any doors prematurely.

There’s no doubt there are sparkles between me and Sir X, as Jz talks about so eloquently here.  i just need to make sure they aren’t all my sparkles.

Two hundred and ten words and i’m out of things to say.  Need to go get ready for my volunteer gig.  It’s getting cold out there ~ pretty soon we’ll be into another winter of me bitching and whining every Saturday morning, right?

Ahhhh, good times.

Laughing…

257 words.

Yes, i know there’s no word minimum.  And maybe i should make up my own version of what Thumper’s daddy used to say ~ you know, in the Bambi movie.  Thumper, prompted by his mother, says that his daddy says, “If you can’t say something nice, then don’t say  nothing at all.”

http://youtu.be/ZKezD7_RZSw

{Yes, i did just try to post a clip from Bambi in my kinky sex blog!  You’ll have to cut and paste the link, and  it’s a long clip, but the part i’m talking about is right at the beginning…  If you’re not familiar with it, it’s worth watching.}

Anyhow, my saying would have to be:  “If you can’t say nothing, then don’t say nothing at all.”  

Laughing…

My dear friend minx graduated from college yesterday ~ i went to her graduation party last night.  This is a woman i’ve known since she was a teenager.  

Last night i discovered that i’ve never known her real name.

i know three different monikers she goes by ~ and none of them are her birth name.  Funny, isn’t it?

So i’m going to take Faithful’s recommendation and go enjoy my day.  The volunteer gig.  Breakfast with friends.  An afternoon of Xmas pleasure.  Time with Sir X

Time with Sir X.  

Which could turn out to be wonderful.

Keeping an open mind, and holding on to hope.

“Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.” 
― Anaïs Nin

17 Responses to “Blah, blah, blah”

  1. K December 17, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    I haven’t gotten my Christmas presents either. I only need to buy for a handful but I’ve been dilly dallying about it. And forget Christmas tree, mine is in the closet, I think.. I might have thrown it out last year out of frustration trying to make it fit in the box. Yep, I think i did just that. lol.

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      @K,

      Laughing… i hope the Christmas spirit catches up with you this week!

      hugs,

      aisha

  2. vanillamom December 17, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    ah, wise words from Anais Nin…courage is kinda like silly putty…it stretches to fit most every thing it comes in contact with…

    And just so you don’t feel bad about the tree? We used to do that too…put it up one day, lights on another day, ornaments on yet another day. Now with the littles …it’s like the Yuletide spirit explodes here the Friday after thanksgiving. Its exhausting, but done.

    With the crash n burn at work, (and thus no party today) i’ll have time to work on your hand warmers…will send yours as soon as i finish them (perhaps i’ll get em started and finished to boot.

    as to the Sir X thing…if you put your “this is what i want” on 3X 5 cards, you could put them in strategic places around the house (or on you) and he’d be able to read along as the evening progressed…

    (smiling)

    hey sweetie, i’m here to help…aren’t i just a font of valuable ideas??

    love you…

    nilla

    ps HI to the Sat. a.m. crowd!

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      @’Nilla,

      The Saturday morning crowd says “hi” back to you!

      Yeah, i don’t actually feel bad about the tree ~ it’s beautiful, and smells good, so you know, even if i never got it decorated i’d still enjoy it. So i guess i pressure myself a little bit just to make sure i really do it!

      i’m excited about the hand warmers ~ no pressure though!

      What crash and burn at work?

      And um, yeah, 3 X 5 index cards, posted on strategic places on my body. Got it.

      laughing… love you,

      aisha

  3. sin December 17, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    No pressure about Chrstmas huh? So what about if… you set up the Christmas tree and don’t do anything else with it? Would that ease things – cause frankly you don’t seem that interested in doing it. What about if you don’t set it up at all? Would you miss it? If not, then don’t do it, til you decide you DO miss it… I love K’s throwing hers out cause it didn’t fit in the box. I’m thinking she won’t miss it.

    I don’t really celebrate Christmas, and I do need something else little for my mom. I got her something small and then lost it in my closet. Maybe I need to clean out my closet? Hey look, I’m writing my blog on your page Aisha. I’m not quite sure what to say on mine today.

    And way to go, posting Bambi and Thumper!

    Good luck with The Man. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself or him or the relationship for tonight. . If it’s going anywhere it will likely take a little while. Try to enjoy the trip? Big hug.

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      @Sin,

      Laughing… yes, i would miss it Like i said to K, it smells good, and i’d kind of be ok with not decorating it, but then i really wouldn’t. It’s not that i don’t want to do it, it’s just a process.

      i’m just still shifting traditions from having kids as a more central part of my Xmas. Apparently, it just takes time – there’s a shock! Laughing… i don’t usually shop far enough ahead to lose presents, hope you find your mom’s without having to resort to desperate measures like cleaning out the closet!

      Thanks for the good luck and wise words, you’re right!

      HUG,

      aisha

  4. striving for peace December 17, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    I think one of the things THEY (meaning those MEN people) are better at than we are — is being in the moment.

    I spend too much of my time thinking about the future between M and I (or the lack thereof to be more exact)

    and I can let it ruin the NOW

    I think there’ s a New Year’s resolution in there somewhere

    have fun tonight

    sfp

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 8:55 am #

      @Sfp,

      Hmmmm. Maybe. i don’t know. i mean, aside from the fact that it’s a sweeping generalization about gender, which i often object to on principal, it may be that men are more typically better at that. It would make sense on a hunter vs gatherer level, wouldn’t it? As a hunter, one needs to be alert and aware in the present moment, as a gatherer, we would need to be planful, notice and remember where berries are growing, figure out which path to take to gain the most benefit, and so on.

      So yeah, i hear you. Mindfully in the moment is a good place to be.

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. Jz December 17, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    From my experience, sparkles can be real but still kinda slow-moving.
    BG will not let us rush. Partially from circumstances, partially from wisdom.
    And frankly, even tho’ that sometimes bothers me when my sparkles have up a head of steam, in the long run, it’s a lot more stable.
    So, I possess my soul in patience and enjoy a more meandering journey along a gently sparkling path. 😉

    (no tree up here yet, either. … see? you are not alone!)

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 8:56 am #

      @Jz,

      I love that phrase: “So, I possess my soul in patience…” Beautiful.

      Thank you for the reminder.

      shoulder bump,

      aisha

  6. Mick December 17, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    in my moment, Mick

    • sin December 17, 2011 at 10:40 am #

      such a guy… 🙂

      • aisha December 17, 2011 at 11:02 am #

        LOL – i know, right? He’s so cute… 🙂

  7. Faithful December 17, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    good things happen to good people

    and I truly believe you are a good one aisha.

    your day and night all sounds wonderful and so yes

    ENJOY!!

    ~faithful

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      Thanks, Faithful,

      i appreciate the good wishes greatly.

      i got to say, i’m not a big believer in a “just world” theory ~ in my experience, sometimes good things happen to good people and bad things happen to bad people, but the opposite is true just as often. However, having said that, i sure appreciate that you think i’m a good ‘un!!

      hugs,

      aisha

  8. smilingsoul December 17, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I had a big soul smile after watching the Bambi clip this morning. Thanks for the smile, aisha. I just love Bambi and it is one of my favorite childhood movies.

    And remember, if you find yourself berating yourself for not experiencing “what is” and “living in the moment”, you can do what Bambi did, “You can try again.”

    • aisha December 18, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      @Smilingsoul,

      Smiling… i’m so glad you enjoyed it!

      And big thanks for the reminder – yes, it’s so easy to get frustrated with oneself for not always practicing the things we know are helpful, and then that’s not so helpful either!

      Hope you’re having a weekend full of pleasure, in all forms

      aisha

Leave a Reply

