Thoughts to Ponder

30 Apr

Some quotes from Anais Nin, who fascinates me.

“I do not want to be the leader. I refuse to be the leader. I want to live darkly and richly in my femaleness. I want a man lying over me, always over me. His will, his pleasure, his desire, his life, his work, his sexuality the touchstone, the command, my pivot. I don’t mind working, holding my ground intellectually, artistically; but as a woman, oh, God, as a woman I want to be dominated. I don’t mind being told to stand on my own feet, not to cling, be all that I am capable of doing, but I am going to be pursued, fucked, possessed by the will of a male at his time, his bidding.” 
― Anaïs Nin

“I postpone death by living, by suffering, by error, by risking, by giving, by losing.” 
― Anaïs Nin

“He was now in that state of fire that she loved. She wanted to be burnt.” 
― Anaïs NinDelta of Venus

“When does real love begin?

At first it was a fire, eclipses, short circuits, lightning and fireworks; the incense, hammocks, drugs, wines, perfumes; then spasm and honey, fever, fatigue, warmth, currents of liquid fire, feast and orgies; then dreams, visions, candlelight, flowers, pictures; then images out of the past, fairy tales, stories, then pages out of a book, a poem; then laughter, then chastity.

At what moment does the knife wound sink so deep that the flesh begins to weep with love?

At first power, power, then the wound, and love, and love and fears, and the loss of the self, and the gift, and slavery. At first I ruled, loved less; then more, then slavery. Slavery to his image, his odor, the craving, the hunger, the thirst, the obsession.” 
― Anaïs NinFire: From “A Journal of Love” The Unexpurgated Diary of Anais Nin, 1934-1938

8 Responses to “Thoughts to Ponder”

  1. K April 30, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    Morning aisha…

    I’ve read that first quote of hers and it’s incredible. Thanks for sharing the others. That last one.. oh my.. yes.. sad but true. True love burns the hell out of us. May be that’s the point of it hurting so bad sometimes. Uh, yes, I better go get my morning coffee. I love how I make sense in my own head, but not so much when I try to express it.

    Great quotes : )

    K

    • aisha May 2, 2012 at 6:09 am #

      Hi, K,

      i’m so glad you liked them!!

      Yeah, i love the first one. i remember being half-shocked when i first read it. It seems so clearly submissive to me.

      Laughing… and coffee does make everything better – but you were making sense to me.

      Thanks!

      aisha

  2. Mick April 30, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    powerful stuff. mick

    • aisha May 2, 2012 at 6:09 am #

      Thanks, Mick!

      aisha

  3. mouse April 30, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    wonderful stuff Aisha…Thank you so much for posting it…

    Always have been a bit curious about her…maybe will have to do some reading.

    Hugs,
    mouse

    • aisha May 2, 2012 at 6:11 am #

      Thanks, Mouse, i’m glad you liked it. i’m kind of fascinated by her. Drawn to her, and uncomfortable a little bit at the same time. i don’t know what my discomfort is about, should probably go back and read her too!

      hugs

      aisha

  4. abby May 1, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    Once again, great quote! I can so identify with your feelings , I think most of us can. I remembered being floored at the intense feeling of…what I termed “neediness”….when Master and I were first starting out on out journey. It was a new feeling for me, I was into middle age, and had been independent and in charge all my life. I have comd to realize…and usually accept it…as part of what makes me open and vulnerable…and adds to my submission. abby

    • aisha May 2, 2012 at 6:13 am #

      Thanks, Abby, glad you liked them!

      It is an interesting and amazing feeling, isn’t it? i was shocked at myself too. But it sure is fun exploring the flip side, isn’t it?

      Thanks for your comments. i appreciate your perspective!

      aisha

Leave a Reply

