Sunday Morning and a Question

3 Jun

This lovely Sunday morning, after a delightful munch with my Sir and Ms. Constance, {and a bunch of other kinky people} i’m sitting at the kitchen table catching up on email and Facebook and so on.  Working my way toward responding to comments on here.   

We could have gone to a private play party at someone’s home last night, but came home to my house instead.  Had our own party, of course, and fell asleep cuddled up and content.

But here’s my question for you.  i got an email this morning.  I deleted the links, changed the name, but it said:

Hello aisha54,

Good news!  phone1111111111 just became a fan of yours at Experience Project! Whether it’s the experiences you have had or the contributions you have made, they found you interesting.

It gave me some information about the person and went on to say:

You can find more people just like you by using EP’s Friend Finder – it’s a quick way to easily connect with others who share your experiences too!

You may also block them by clicking here.

Cheers!,
EPAllie/The Experience Project Team

Needless to say, i didn’t click any of the links, it’s not my first day in the cyber-world.  But i googled Experience Project and found a website.  Without signing up for it, i’m not real sure what it is, why one would join, or how anyone could have linked with me on there since i’d never heard of it.

I replied to the email i got, asking about it, and we’ll see if i get a response.

In the meantime, i thought i’d ask y’all, who are wise and wondrous in the ways of the world, what do you know about this website?  How could it have linked to me?

Here’s a link to it ~ http://www.experienceproject.com/index.php ~ that’s from where i googled it, so i don’t think it’s a virus, although i guess you never know.  And you may have to cut and paste the link.  Or google it yourself.  But anything you can tell me will be greatly appreciated!

6 Responses to “Sunday Morning and a Question”

  1. acquiexence June 3, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Hey hun — I saw this earlier and didn’t comment because I knew nothing about it. But 20 minutes later my sister came home and, quite randomly, mentioned it. So I asked her, and from my understanding it’s a kind of networking site based on interests and experiences, with a very Formspring-esque format where people can ask questions or make statements and others can respond en masse. I haven’t checked it out myself so that info may not be completely accurate, but it gives you a general idea. My sister said it’s very active — lots of responses to all kinds of things — and people are alternately hilarious, thought-provoking, or just looking for others of like mind. So I would say it’s legit, but YMMV. 😉

    • aisha June 5, 2012 at 5:08 am #

      Thanks, Acquiexence,

      Isn’t that funny how that happens sometimes? I wouldn’t be surprised if you hear about it a third time…

      Thanks for the information!!

      aisha

  2. mouse June 3, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Ya it’s real, it’s a Facebook/Formspring like thing…but not nearly as useful.

    Hugs,
    mouse

    • aisha June 5, 2012 at 5:09 am #

      Cool, thanks, Mouse!!

  3. David June 4, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    I remember 2 or 3 years ago when the Experience Project was just starting they were looking for people to write essays about their experiences. As I recall the intent was kind of like writing is cathartic and it was a way for people to share their, sometimes painful, memories and history and also a way to let others know, who probably had similar experiences, that they are not alone.

    I followed it for a while and there was some good writing there, about a variety of topics, as acquiexence said. I can imagine that a whole comment and feedback system would evolve where people could comment or lend support to others.

    I have not checked into the site in a long long time so don’t know the state of things. I hope it is still worthwhile for people as it seemed a sound idea when it was initiated. Unfortunately things often go off course when too many people use it for their various needs/desires/purposes.

    • aisha June 5, 2012 at 5:20 am #

      Hi, David,

      Thank you for the additional information ~ it is still used for people to write about their experiences actually and looks kind of interesting. If i had time for something else to play with on-line, i’d probably do it.

      It looks like people connect and chat around the issues they select to write about. Pretty cool.

      Thank you again.

      aisha

Leave a Reply

