Submission quotes

5 Jun

“Submission is not about authority and it is not obedience; it is all about relationships of love and respect.” 
― W. Paul YoungThe Shack

Have youall read The Shack?  i haven’t, it’s one of those books i refused to read cause everyone was, and then what i heard about it made me think i was better off not reading it.  So i have no idea what context that quote is in, but it sounds interesting.  Was it actually about D/s?

“It’s hard for an educated woman to turn her head off. That’s part of the joy of being a submissive. None of the decisions are yours. When you can’t refuse anything and can’t even move, those voices in your head go silent. All you can do, and all you are permitted to do, is feel.” 
― Cherise SinclairDark Citadel

i like the description of sub-space, but what is she saying ~ that educated women have more difficulty turning their heads off than uneducated women?  i resent the stereotype inherent in that.  As someone who knows lots of  women and men who are not formally well-educated, it seems to me that anxiety is what keeps people from being able to “turn my head off.”

“So you’ll get your kicks by exerting your will over me.”
“It’s about gaining your trust and your respect, so you’ll let me exert my will over you. I will gain a great deal of pleasure, joy, even in your submission. The more you submit, the greater my joy – it’s a very simple equation.”
“Okay, and what do I get out of this?”
He shrugs and looks almost apologetic.
“Me,” he says simply.” 
― E.L. JamesFifty Shades of Grey

O, good grief.  This is a sample of Fifty Shades?  Laughing…  no, no, no.  What one gets is the opportunity to be submissive, if one is.  Sheesh.

“Then Hwin, though shaking all over, gave a strange little neigh and trotted across to the Lion. 

“Please,” she said, “you’re so beautiful. You may eat me if you like. I’d sooner be eaten by you than fed by anyone else.” 
― C.S. LewisThe Horse and His Boy

And of course there’s the symbolic connection to submitting to God.   That’s plenty to ponder for one day, isn’t it?

 

10 Responses to “Submission quotes”

  1. acquiexence June 5, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    Oh, no. No no no. “The Shack” is not about D/s at ALL. It’s … what one would typically label a “Christian” book. Less about the labels: it’s about the main character’s journey back to a God against whom he has held a very understandable grudge that has stripped all joy and meaning out of his life. It’s a very touching and thought-provoking story regardless of your religion. And it’s short.

    As for “Fifty Shades of Grey”, that quote — and your reaction — is almost perfect as a summation of the novel. Feminist Sub talked about this, too (http://afeministsub.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/fifty-shades-of-grey-and-ambivalence/) and in my comment reply I said that it was mostly a story about love, where D/s is a tool but not the main point, despite how much fuss has been made over it. Ana submits because she loves him, not because she loves pain (she’s not a masochist at all, though she enjoys a small amount of erotic pain) or even because she loves submission (there’s a lot of debate about this, but I’m inclined to think of her as a woman who submits MOSTLY because it’s what gets him off and that makes her happy in a reciprocal way, and much less because of any particular desire she has to submit).

    • aisha June 5, 2012 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks, Acquiexence,

      I may have to reconsider my anti-The Shack reading, although i’m a bit “off” Christianity these days. But you said that doesn’t matter, so maybe…. Yeah, based on who i knew that was reading it, i kind of thought it wasn’t actually D/s. But that connected with religion can really be there.

      Yep, agree with you in terms of what i’ve heard about Fifty Shades. Haven’t read that either. Probably won’t. Can feel a serious stubborn streak coming on…

      hugs,

      aisha

      • acquiexence June 6, 2012 at 5:51 am #

        It was interesting to me to see what people thought of “50 Shades” as its popularity hit the roof, as I’d finished reading the trilogy about a month before I noticed anyone writing about it. Since I buy e-books all the time and I’m often late to the party, I thought this was another set of books that everyone had already read and gotten over, and was very surprised to find it was the other way around. But if the trend had begun first, I may have done the same as you, and not read it; I never like jumping on bandwagons once they’ve started rolling. 😉

        Still, I would suggest reading it, not so much for D/s as for the complexities of the relationship itself — which have echoes and connection to D/s, as well as vanilla love. It’s easy to relate to different aspects of Ana and Christian’s relationship, regardless of your level of kink involvement — which is probably why so many people like it. I wouldn’t say it’s spectacular, and I wouldn’t recommend reading it just so you know what everyone else is arguing about … but it’s a decent read in and of itself. 🙂

        I would definitely recommend “The Shack”, however. If it helps, I was in an extremely low spot with my faith when I first read it, and it moved me to tears many times. Not because it changed my mind about the issues I was having with church around then, but because it is a story of healing, and one that (again) has many familiar thoughts and emotions to which people can relate.

      • aisha June 7, 2012 at 4:28 am #

        Thanks, Acquiexence,

        That’s interesting. I really appreciate the input.

        I know how you feel about reading something and then being shocked later when it becomes mega-popular. That happened to me with The Exorcist ~ i read it before the movie and before everyone was talking about it.

        i’ll have to think about The Shack.

        Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

        aisha

  2. sin June 5, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Sigh. I don’t love any of your quotes. I guess they aren’t quite what I think of as submission? So I’ll look for some that speak to me and bring them to show you.

    • aisha June 5, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      Lol, i didn’t love any of them either. i’m in a bit of a mood this morning…

      aisha

  3. mouse June 5, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    50 shades aisha?

    Seriously? LMAO! Saw that and almost had to wipe down the coffee from the computer.

    The others were interesting….especially the CS Lewis one…hmmm

    Hugs,
    mouse

    • aisha June 6, 2012 at 4:52 am #

      Dear Mouse,

      i know! Sad little quote, isn’t it?

      The CS Lewis one is kind of interesting though, I like CS Lewis a lot. But it was interesting to me the quotes that popped up when i googled “quotes submissive.”

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. vanillamom June 5, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    now i want to read 50 shades of gray even more. I kinda like that quote. It’s one Doms pov anyway…not all doms feel that way about submission…some are worse!!

    LOL

    hugs…thanks for some good thinkin’ material…

    nilla

    • aisha June 6, 2012 at 4:56 am #

      Hey, ‘Nilla,

      Do you? That’s cool. And you’re right, it is just one pov. lol… You’ll have to tell me about the book, i don’t see me reading it anytime soon. But i’d like to know what you think about it.

      hugs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

