Heart-Stopping

12 Jun

On my computer at work, when i get a new email, a preview of it pops up on the bottom of the screen.  The who-it’s-from part and the first couple of  lines of the message, right?

So yesterday, i’m sitting there doing something when an email pops up with the little sound it makes to alert you, and i glance at it, and as i do ~~~

my heart stops ~

~~ leaps up into my mouth ~~~~

~~~~~~~~ and hovers there for a few seconds.  Like a humming-bird.

The message says:

Aisha, I don’t think I’m his supervisor, I think {my vanilla name} is…

And the glimpse of the 2 names, aisha and my vanilla name, together, on my work computer, sends my mind spiraling into a moment of panic.  Flashing thoughts ~

~ what happened?  omg, did i send an email from the wrong account?  How could i do that?  How could they figure out it was me?????  

For just that heart-stopping moment of panic, my worlds collided.  

Then ~ quicker than it takes to tell it ~ i read the whole message and realize ~ i’m not the only person “named” aisha.   The email has nothing to do with my other persona.  Much less kinky sex blogs.

Whew!  Nothing feels quite as good as that moment of relief.  i pause for a moment to enjoy it…

***********************

On a whole other note ~ no baby yet.  All is well, he or she just hasn’t made an appearance yet.  Thursday is now the designated day ~ if not sooner, then they’ll start inducing labor Thursday for sure.

20 Responses to “Heart-Stopping”

  1. faithful June 12, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    I can relate – although I do have a separate work computer and I do zero personal on it, but I do have a BB and it has all my email accounts so merging contacts is not out of the question. … not to mention that from my personal computer I am always scared I will send a message to Master to someone else. I check and double check before i hit send for sure!

    Glad it worked out okay and looking forward to wonderful news on Thursday!!

    Happy and Healthy Baby thoughts!

    ~faithful

    • vanillamom June 12, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      a friend of mine (a D/s friend) recently suggested having two browsers on your computer. I now use Chrome exclusively for my D/s stuff, and Mozilla/Foxfire for vanilla stuff. It keeps me from fucking up …nilla

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:36 am #

      Thanks for the good thoughts, Faithful!

      Yeah, I have a separate work computer too, and none of my personal stuff is on it, and it’s a whole separate email system, so there’s really, absolutely no way it could have happened. It was strictly an emotional reaction. Thank goodness!!

      🙂

      aisha

  2. yesthankyousir June 12, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    Oh my at the world’s colliding. I’ve been there, literally had it happen. Granted the situation wasn’t terribly unpleasent but I did have to find another job.

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Hey, Andi

      O, gosh, that would be awful! Unless the job move was a good thing, in which case it was only awful for a minute, right? Glad you got through that ok!

      aisha

  3. poured out June 12, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    *gulps*

    Yep. That would do it. Glad it wasn’t what you thought…

    • Mick June 12, 2012 at 7:57 am #

      yep, that could be a little unnerving. Good luck with that vigil.

      Mick

      • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:38 am #

        Hey, Mick,

        “Unnerving” is a good way to put it!

        aisha

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Hi, Poured out,

      Yeah… me too!! Thanks!

      aisha

  4. vanillamom June 12, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    oh, the terror of possible exposure. *nodding*. And I have spoken to a few real-life Aisha’s on the phone…and they weren’t you, either! LOL! Still, that moment of panic when the world tilts on its axis for a brief moment…*shudders*

    yeah.

    Glad all is well in babyland. Waxing the kitchen floor did it for my mom. Chinese food for my SIL for her first (the last two were C-sections). Drinking a glass of water upside down..no wait…that’s for hiccups…*giggle* I’m just bein’ silly! Sending hugs…lots of hugs, Nonna!

    nilla

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:42 am #

      Hi, ‘Nilla,

      Yep, it was a moment of terror ~ for nothing, fortunately! And i know, it cracks me up now when i talk to someone named Aisha – which is kind of silly, but still.

      Thanks for the, um, helpful hints on inducing labor naturally ~ lol ~ fortunately, we didn’t need to have her drink the glass of water upside down ~ that’ would have been a sight!!

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. mouse June 12, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    what a nightmare!

    Was really hoping for some baby news….

    Hugs,
    mouse

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:46 am #

      Hi, Mouse,

      It was a nightmare – but just for a second, thank goodness!

      And thank goodness, baby news is old hat now – just shows how far behind i am here.

      hugs,

      aisha

  6. Amaia June 12, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    OH wow.. How scary…glad it worked out! Keep us up to date on “baby watch 2012!!!”

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      Thanks, Amaia!! It was scary ~ but brief. And at least baby watch 2012 has been successfully concluded!

      hugs,

      aisha

  7. jade June 12, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    i just wanted to let you know that you are a *total* tease. i was thinking the heart stopping news was that you just had the most incredible grandchild ever born. Sheesh. This baby is a true Gemini already (grins). If the baby is born tomorrow, he or she will share a birthday with one of the most beautiful human beings ever born. Yep. Of course, that beautiful human being was absolutely stubborn and liked to stick his little bottom up in the air in response to directives he didn’t like. We figured this was his way of suggesting we kiss his little two year old behind. 😛

    i am so happy that this baby will get to grow up knowing you. Really.

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Hi, Jade,

      Giggling… it was a good tease, wasn’t it?

      And i think the baby was waiting for a day that she wouldn’t hve to share with anyone…. glad she finally found it!

      And thank you. 🙂

      hugs,

      aisha

  8. Wordwytch June 12, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    Oh gods! I understand that panic. I have 3 blogs and 15? 18? email addresses. I work Very hard to keep things separate as I could so not have my writer’s life mix with my mundane life.

    As for that baby…. Here’s hoping the baby shows up very soon!

    • aisha June 15, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      Hi, Wordwytch,

      Good grief – 3 blogs and 15 – 18 email addresses? i’d lose my mind. You’re a better woman than i am…

      And thanks for the hopes… at least she finally did put in an appearance!

      aisha

      • Wordwytch June 16, 2012 at 12:40 am #

        Not better, just a communications geek. 🙂 Glad the baby showed up at last.

Leave a Reply

