Today

6 Jul

i’m ending my first week of not being at my old job.  It still feels like i’m on vacation.

 That’s not a bad feeling.  

i think i’ll be more excited when it kicks in that this is it.  That i don’t have to go back.

What i’ll need to do is figure out what working for myself looks like.

Yikes.

But i’m taking this month, and half of August off, and just playing with it all.

Easing through the transition.  Maybe.  Or maybe there’s a meltdown just waiting to happen.

Don’t know where i’m at with blogging.  Almost didn’t today.  i’ll take a break for sure in August.  Well, i think i will anyhow.

i’m nesting at home, nesting in my office.   Lots of moving furniture, hanging pictures, and strategically placing knick knacks.  Not that i have a lot of knick knacks, but the ones i have demand respect.

Anyhow.   Getting ready to go see the Little Rascal, and help my daughter run some errands.

Feeling good about life.  🙂

13 Responses to “Today”

  1. faerie July 6, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    What a wonderful post, I feel your happiness and it makes me smile 🙂

    • aisha July 6, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Thank you, faerie!

      Aisha

  2. yesthankyousir July 6, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I’m feeling good about you feeling good! Lots of love!

    • aisha July 6, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks, Andi.

      The same to you!

      Aisha

  3. Wordwytch July 6, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Working for yourself can be a challenge. BTDT more than once. Some hints. 1). Set a schedule that Works for YOU. If this is between 8:45am to 3:30pm with lunch at 2pm, do so. Work when you are creative. If you’re a nightowl, schedule time during the day to conduct business with those who are not.
    2) Dress for the office… within limits. We all love to work in pjs, but… the day you really do is the day Mrs. Grundy comes to visit. Plus, it helps the mindset. Clothes = Work.
    3) End the day at the same time. Don’t work an extra 20-45-125 minutes just because you’re home. Along with that, take breaks. Do NOT eat at your desk. Schedule days OFF and Vacations. Do not let the job be something that consumes you.
    4) Have Fun! If you don’t like what you’re doing, why do it? Follow your Bliss!

    And if you have other questions, email me. 🙂 a.wordwytch@gmail.com

    Oh, and hug that baby! 🙂

    • Kitty the Submissive Wife July 6, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      I just had to reply to this one – I have worked for me for almost five years now and it took most of the first two years to learn that number 3 is TOTALLY TRUE. Thank you for saying it out loud. Also, I can’t work for me at the house anymore – too hard to start, too hard to stop. Renting an office is totally worth the expense (for my family – and they all have desks there too, so it works great.

      • Wordwytch July 7, 2012 at 12:03 am #

        You’re welcome Kitty. Wolf and I both work at home, and each of us has different issues. However, #3 is the boogie man for both of us. We’ve separated our house out a bit to help with the office/not office space thing. We tried renting, but couldn’t keep up. So, we came back home.
        It can be real difficult though to keep life and work separate. hugs!

    • aisha July 7, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

      Hey, Wordwytch,

      All wise advice!! Thanks!!

      I may email you, and i’ll hug the baby for sure! 🙂

      aisha

      • Wordwytch July 7, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

        You are more than welcome to email me any time.
        Kisses and hugs for the baby! Wolf and I have 11 between us and not one closer than 200+ miles. sign..

  4. striving for peace July 6, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    you know
    the blog is for you
    for when you need it

    not when we need it

    blog as it serves you

    sfp

    • aisha July 7, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks for the reminder, sister of mine. 🙂

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. Fondlers Anonymous July 7, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    I’ve been self employed for about 14 years. But a couple of years ago I picked up some part time work in school too. On days that I’m not in school I still work from home and one very important lesson I learnt early this year is that you’ve got to set your work hours and stick to them as much as possible.

    I work 3-9pm on weekdays and someone wanted to come in at 930am. I said no. As I had given them a morning option on saturday and an after hours option (7-9pm) any other day.

    It’ll be tempting to make exceptions. but you’ll only be stressing yourself out in the long run.

    Glad to hear you’re so happy. wishing you happy times ahead!

    BTW I linked you in this post.

    • aisha July 7, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Thanks, FA, for the words of wisdom and for the link on your post! How cool!

      And thanks for the good wishes, and sharing the joy!

      hugs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

