One Lovely Blog…

9 Jul

Many thanks to FA {Fondlers Anonymous} who gave me this award here.  If you haven’t visited her blog yet, go do it.  She has a delightful blog, and i’m enjoying following her discoveries in the great kink adventure we all share.

Here are the rules of the award:

Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
– Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
– Nominate fifteen or so bloggers you admire.
– Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know and link back to them.

Thank you, FA!!  🙂

i suspect that youall already know too much about me, but here are 7 more things:

1.  i wear reading glasses, most of which i get at the dollar store.  i have 5 or 6 pairs, scattered in different places ~ o, maybe i have more than that.  There are some in the house, in different rooms, in the car, in my purse, at the office…  i like colorful frames, lots of purple, some with rhinestones.   i also like to look over them at people for a reprimanding effect.

These are cute…

2.  i hated high school passionately.  I went to a Catholic all-girls school, and pretty much hated everything about it.  Spent my whole four years trying to prove that i really wasn’t very smart, trying to see how little work i could do and still get average grades.

3.  i  was in an abusive relationship when i was in high school.

4.  i smoked cigarettes for about forty years, and have not smoked in over three years.  Do not congratulate me or tell me you’re proud of me, condolences only are accepted.  i’m just glad i had those good years with my smokes.  Smokers and former smokers will understand.

5.  My biological daughter has always traveled her own path.   i’m pretty sure this is the universe’s way of paying me back for doing the same thing, so i deserve it, and i mostly enjoy her a lot.

6.  i post a quote on facebook every day.  Yeah, every single day, a different one, not “shared” from someone else.   i started out finding them in books i have, but now i mostly look up either a category or a person on the internet.  Some of my favorites are from Kahlil Gibran, Pema Chodron, Thich Naht Hahn, James Baldwin, bell hooks, Winnie-the-Pooh, and Dr. Seuss.

7.    Sometimes, i am just a teeny bit jealous of the bloggers who are just starting out on their kinky journey.  They have so many discoveries ahead of them, so many good times to experience.  Not that i don’t too, but there’s something about those first kinky steps, the novelty of blogging about it, making cyber friends…  ahhhhhhh.  Good times ahead.

Here are some of the blogs that i read:

These first ones are the people i’ve been reading since i discovered kinky blogs.  I thought they were like rock stars back in the day, a fact which still amuses them.

My friend ‘Nilla’s blog ~ Vanilla mom ~ who does the best mix of real life and kinky fantasy that you can imagine. Even if there are dragons in her stories sometimes.

Sfp’s blog, Jumping on In ~ who mixes kink and her vanilla adventures with her own personal touch.

Mick ‘n’ Molly over at Under Contract to my Wife ~ who live the closest to me, and who were the first blogging kinksters i ever met, way back in the day.

That’s the group of blogging kinksters i’ve actually met in person, and it still delights me to remember those experiences.  The other “rock star” from my early days, i haven’t met in person, but still want to.

Sin at Finding my Submission ~ and when i think “Kinky Bloggers Convention” i totally think of her and her Dom, Big Bad, being at the party.  Wouldn’t that be fun?

Little Monkey, who’s changed blogs more than once, but takes her delightful personality, interesting thoughts, and sometimes painful honesty with her.  i picture her at the kinky bloggers convention making us all laugh, and then hitting some poignant note that brings tears to my eyes.  Yeah.  It would be awesome.

   {There are some blogs that would go here,                                         but they’re private these days,                                                                          so there’s no point in listing them.}

 My friend Ali is another one who changes blogs often, {at least by my standards.  i’ll have the same blog when i’m doing it from the nursing home.}  i keep following Ali because i love watching her change and grow.

Mouse and Omega offer another view of people growing, changing, and healing in the kink world.  i’ve learned so much from reading them.  They’re on vacation at the moment, but if you haven’t already been a reader there, this would be a good time to read the archives.

Green Girl doesn’t post as often as i wish she would, but she always gives me a new perspective to wrestle with, and often i go back and read her posts more than once.

Then there are the Dom’s blogs:

Jake at Leather Cuffs and Silken Bonds ~ who is a thoughtful, philosophical Dom, sharing the early days of his kink with his wife, Joy.

Dauntless Vitality at A Dauntless Journey, who posts the most wonderful photographs, and writes interesting and thoughtful posts.

Ms Constance at Ms Constance Explains is new to blogging, but an old hand in the kink world.  You all already know she’s a friend of mine, so that’s way cool.

Sir J at What Does it Mean to be Dominant gives a real Dom viewpoint on the universe.

A View from the Top ~ David writes great posts, and some terrific fiction too.  i wish he’d write some more of the Agnes and Fredrick stories, they are so very hot.

And back to subs:

faerie at Faerie Learns to Fly ~ who is as delightful as the name of her blog implies.

lil at Submissive sanctuary, who thoughtfully explores her experience, and recently listed 100 things about herself.  {Yikes!}

And now i’ve hit 15 and there are so many more to go…. damn.

Joolz, who’s really new, and Conina, at Exploring Surrender, who i really like, and Florida Dom, who starts a lot of discussions, but also writes some fiction, and Wordwytch, whose stories intrigue and excite, and omigosh, Discerning Dom, who was actually among my first blogs to read, and who still turns me on instantly, and Kitty, the Submissive Wife, and so many others, that really i almost wish i hadn’t started this list cause i’m leaving out more than i included.

Sigh.

And i’m supposed to notify them that i’ve dinged them here, but sheesh, that’s gonna take a long time, and i’ve been writing this post forever.  Tomorrow is another day, right?

And tomorrow, on here, i want to write about slut-shaming and whether or not the BDSM community is actually sex positive….

28 Responses to “One Lovely Blog…”

  1. vanillamom July 9, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    🙂

    nilla

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:03 am #

      @’Nilla,

      Mwhahahahahahaha…. i was not familiar with that song, took me a minute to “get it.”

      hugs,

      aisha

  2. Fondlers Anonymous July 9, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    THANK YOU for the lovely intro (to people who don’t know me) and for carrying on the lovely blog award!!

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:04 am #

      You’re more than welcome, FA! Both were my pleasure.

      aisha

  3. faerie July 9, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    Aww, thanks for including me 🙂 When I first started reading I lurked here for a long time, I was way too timid to leave a comment. Now look at me, can’t get me to shut up, lol.

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:06 am #

      Hi, faerie,

      Laughing… yeah, but you have so much to say! Thank goodness you started saying it. 🙂

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. Sir J July 9, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    Thank you for the nod, I too had reading glasses stashed all over the place but I am afraid I have gone to far down that slippery slop and now I just where one really good pair all the time. No pressure in being know to write on the whole universe but I will do my best 🙂

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:11 am #

      Thank you, Sir J! i suppose i’ll have to succumb to the “real glasses” thing myself one of these days. 🙂

      aisha

  5. Kitty the Submissive Wife July 9, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Aisha – I love this list – many of them I have found through reading you – so you are like my gateway drug to blogger land. 🙂

    And my name on there? So nice – I have been putting off doing the One Lovely Blogs because I can’t think of things people don’t know about me – and also, how to name all the blogs you like? You are brave. 🙂

    • Kitty the Submissive Wife July 9, 2012 at 10:11 am #

      PS – Number 4 – sincere condolences. I get this.

      • Fondlers Anonymous July 10, 2012 at 1:10 am #

        oh, yeah. my condolences too. I’m still in mourning myself.

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:13 am #

      Thanks, Kitty,

      i LOVE the idea of being your gateway drug to blogger land! What a lovely thought!

      i’ll look forward to reading your list. 🙂

      aisha

  6. Conina July 9, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    I love the thing about the reading glasses. My mom does the same thing. 🙂

    It’s really nice to be included on your (long, long) list. You’re like the rock star for me!

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:15 am #

      Hi, Conina,

      O, funny ~ i kinda like the idea of having rock star status, but you should know that having told me that probably means that someone will say the same to you at some point!

      Of course, someday, you’ll be stashing glasses all over the place too…

      hugs,

      aisha

      • Conina July 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

        The glasses I stash are prescription ones thanks to Zenni Optical. 🙂

  7. lil July 9, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I’m honored that you enjoy my little corner.

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:15 am #

      Thank you, Lil. i really do, very much.

      aisha

  8. Jake July 9, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Thank you for the nomination and the kind words about my blog, aisha!

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:15 am #

      You are more than welcome, Jake!

      aisha

  9. Ana July 9, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Condolences. 🙂

    I think it is neat that you give reasons why you chose each blog instead of just posting a list. It is nice to know why people like the blogs that they do. These are also different from my usual round of blogs, so that is nice as well!

    Take care.

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:24 am #

      Thanks, Ana ~ i just discovered your blog! Well, “discovered” is probably not the right word ~ like Christopher Columbus discovering America, it was already there, he just didn’t know it. But that’s very cool, and i’m glad you commented so i could go see it.

      i’m glad you like my list too! Thanks for commenting!

      aisha

      • Ana July 10, 2012 at 9:16 am #

        LOL…Hiya, Christopher Columbus! Want me to teach you how to plant crops?

        I am glad you are on wordpress so your blog is easier to remember. I will sure be stopping by again soon! And I am glad you like my blog. 🙂

  10. Wordwytch July 10, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    Hugs and smiles! I enjoy your blog as well. 🙂

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 5:25 am #

      Thanks, Wordwytch!

      aisha

  11. greengirl July 10, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    Aisha – thank you for such kind thoughts. i wish i had more time to read – i learn so much from other peoples’ thoughts – and you top that list, even if i don’t always have an intelligent response to leave. And btw – i loathed high school as well – and put a lot of effort into not doing well, college was a completely different world – thank God.

    • aisha July 10, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      Hi, Gg,

      Thank you for the kind words! i’m glad you enjoy my blog too. And that’s great, that we are high-school-haters together. i loved college too ~ how cool!! And can’t stand it when people tell teenagers “there are the best years of your life.” Thank goodness they weren’t!!

      hugs,

      aisha

  12. striving for peace July 10, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Thank you so much for putting me on your list!

    Although I don’t know if I will be able to pay it forward — I don’t read 15 kink blogs (and I’m pretty sure that the non-kink blogs don’t want to be linked to me — lol)

    you are my first read of the day — even with poopy diapers

    sfp

  13. Mick July 10, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Thanks for the plug, AIsha. It’s been a rather crazy week here, and this might require more energy than Old Mick has at the moment, but I will file it away for later.

    Mick

Leave a Reply

