A New Task

20 Jul

i have a new task.  i need to keep a calendar that He can access so He knows what we’re supposed to be doing when.  

i love that.  It doesn’t sound sexy, does it?  But it is to me.

Of course nothing is as easy as it sounds, and my technology isn’t always compatible with His.  Yes, we’re a mixed household ~ He’s PC, i’m Mac.  

i know there are theoretically easy solutions to this.  i just haven’t quite figured out how to do it.  But i’m working on it.

Now i’m off to do my volunteer thing, which i’ve started doing on Fridays as well as Saturdays.  Good times ahead.

24 Responses to “A New Task”

  1. sin July 20, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    I think google has a calendar don’t they? And probably yahoo too…

    • aisha July 20, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      Thanks, Sin, yes, they do. It’s complicated…

      aisha

  2. vanillamom July 20, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Staples sells these really neat things…they’re made of an archaic thing, paper I think it’s called…and you hang ’em on the wall….um…let me think…*taps finger on bottom lip*…Calamari? no, no, that’s not right…Caldera? um…no, hmmmm…… well, anyway, whatever it’s called, it has all the days of the week and you can write on it with these yellow sticks…

    *snikkers*

    nilla

    • aisha July 20, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      Dear ‘Nilla,

      Har-de-har-har. So funny i forgot to laugh.

      hahahahahahaha…

      But He can’t access it while He’s at work, now can He? Mmmmhmmmm, that’s what i thought.

      Luddite

      love,

      aisha

      • nilla July 20, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

        mwahahahahaha!

        didja notice the “calamari” reference? didja, didja? *cackling*

        nilla

      • aisha July 21, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

        Hey, ‘Nilla,

        Did i ever mention that you have this little evil streak?

        Yeah. You.

        i did notice your calamari reference, Evil Woman. i was carefully ignoring it. It’s called intentional ignoring ~ it’s a behavior management strategy.

        Clearly, it didn’t work with you. Why am i not surprised?

        {Giggling}

        aisha

      • vanillamom July 21, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

        🙂

  3. yesthankyousir July 20, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I think knowing your partner. Wanting to know your partner is incredibly sexy.

    Andi

    • aisha July 20, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      Hi, Andi,

      It is, isn’t it?

      {Happy sigh….}

      You’re right. That’s why it’s sexy.

      aisha

  4. Michelle July 20, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Google’s calendar is super easy to set up and use, and if either of you have smartphones you can “sync” them easily as well.

    • Michelle July 20, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      and a link because my Masters in Library Science is showing.
      http://support.google.com/calendar/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=2465776

    • aisha July 20, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      Hi, Michelle,

      Thank you for the suggestion. Yes, i do know this, here’s the thing ~ well, two things, and if you have solutions i’ll be ecstatic.

      Background: My calendar includes client names that of course i need to keep confidential, even from Sir. Even though it’s first name, last initial, i still want to protect the information. So my plan was to sync my iCal with my iphone and have two different calendars on the iphone, so client names could be on a work calendar that i don’t share and i’d just put “client” on the personal calendar to fill the space and share that with Him on a Google calendar. With me so far? Ok.

      i already have a google calendar set up, and have it set so He can access it. It all looks easily doable. ONLY ~

      For some reason, my iCal is not merging appts when syncing with my iphone ~ appts go to the iphone but not from iphone to ical, which is what i need it to do. So i need to figure out how to fix that. It’s also not syncing automatically, which it should be doing, but that’s a lower level priority to fix. I’d be happy if I could manually sync it. But i haven’t been able to figure out why it’s not merging, or how to change it.

      Then, I thought well, I’ll just synch with the google calendar and remove the names on there, right? i don’t use the ical anyhow. So when i try to set up to do that, it tells me to start a google email account.

      Ok, but i already have a gmail acct. Is that what I need to use? Do i need a new acct? When i tried to set one up, it told me i did ~ i think. But i haven’t been able to get it to sync with my gmail acct either.

      And I’m working on building a website, which will then have its own email address for me, and it uses a bunch of google stuff – my website host does – so will that be a “google account” for the purposes of my google calendar? I don’t know. And i’m not ready to do that with my website yet anyhow, so it will be a while before i know. Unless i go root around the website info and try to figure it out first, which seems like a waste of time.

      But i don’t need more email addresses for no reason, i have about 5 already. ARGH.

      See. Just writing about it makes me feel like i’m in the middle of tangled thread. What i need is an administrative assistant, {Lol} which is probably not going to happen in this lifetime.

      i will, however, go check your link, and really appreciate the input, and if you have suggestions or remedies, please share them, because i am not trying to be pissy about this!!

      Many thanks!!

      aisha

      • Michelle July 20, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

        that IS complicated.
        I know very little about Mac/iPhones in general but here’s what I’m finding…
        1. did some searching on the iPhone to iCal problem and found 2 common solutions – to turn off the Calendar in iCloud (On iphone select settings and then select icloud. Turn off calender. When prompted opt to keep rather than delete calender. Then go back to itunes and sync phone in normal way.) or to reset iSync
        2. yes gmail and google email are the same. there should be a way to sign in with the existing account. I am guessing that either on the iPhone or iCal there should be a place to sync it with the google calendar.
        3. it’s very possible that your email from the new site will be “powered” by google, but I think you are right to not worry about that now and to handle that when it comes.

        and breathe. It’s all ok. and ‘nilla was joking, but sometimes low tech is a better solution.

      • aisha July 21, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

        Hey, Michelle,

        Thanks for going to all this trouble! First of all, it was nice to feel validated – just saying it is complicated made me feel better! 🙂

        And it helped me think outside of my tangle of thread ~ i ended up downloading a google calendar app for my iphone and am just using that now for everything except client names. That buys me time to figure everything else out at leisure.

        Thank you very much!!

        aisha

  5. coninab July 20, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Do you guys have google accounts? Google calender is super easy to share. 🙂

    • aisha July 20, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      Dear Conina,

      Yes. And it’s complicated…

      hugs,

      aisha

    • coninab July 20, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      Oh, sorry, for some reason it didn’t show me all the comments already here.

      • aisha July 20, 2012 at 11:32 am #

        That’s ok – i figured that! 🙂

      • coninab July 20, 2012 at 11:35 am #

        You can create a whole new calendar within your google account and just share that one — we have a personal calendar and one with events, and we just share the one with events.

      • aisha July 21, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

        Yeah, that’s a good idea too. I think this suggestion helped me find my solution – which was to download the google calendar app. Thank you very much!!

        aisha

      • coninab July 21, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

        Whee, I led to something helpful! I was worried immediately after I posted this that I’d just told you something else you knew already (when I went and read your problem a third time).

        Glad you got that taken care of. 🙂

  6. Fondlers Anonymous July 20, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    wow, so i was going to say google calender. then i saw the rest of the comments. so i’ma gonna shut my gap now. and say – good luck with that!

    • aisha July 21, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

      Thank you, FA, there was certainly a consensus on the usefulness of google calendar, wasn’t there? 🙂 Seriously, thanks for chiming in, and for the good luck wishes!!!

      aisha

  7. Wordwytch July 21, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    Calendaring… I think Wolf mastered this ages ago. EVERYTHING is scheduled… ahem…. although he ‘chickens out’ and puts ‘sleep’ in on datenights. LOL… Good luck!

Leave a Reply

