Quotes to Consider

21 Jul

i’ve been reading Audre Lorde quotes again.  They’re fascinating.  i think i’ve posted some before.  Maybe even the same ones, i don’t know.

i post them on Facebook sometimes, but get little response, and i think maybe somehow they belong here, bridging some gap between BDSM and feminism and just being a woman.

i love this one, and i’m not even sure why.  It gives me a feeling i can’t name.

“Some women wait for themselves around the next corner and call the empty spot peace but the opposite of living is only not living and the stars do not care.” 

i can’t tell you what i think it means, but it speaks to me.

This one too:

“We tend to think of the erotic as an easy, tantalizing sexual arousal. I speak of the erotic as the deepest life force, a force which moves us toward living in a fundamental way.” 

When she speaks of pain, it resonates with me.  We work with pain, in our lives, in our blogs.  Learning to embrace it, handle it, channel it, whatever it is we need to do with it, we explore here.  She says it for me.

“Pain is important: how we evade it, how we succumb to it, how we deal with it, how we transcend it.” 

And then she says:

“We have been raised to fear the yes within ourselves, our deepest cravings.” 

And i have to stop.  i feel that inside myself somewhere, and know that it applies to so many things.  Kink, of course, but lots of things.  

“The yes within ourselves.”  What a fabulous ~ image?  concept?  feeling?  i don’t know what it is, but i want to claim it, that yes within myself.

“We must recognize and nurture the creative parts of each other without always understanding what will be created.” 

i think of all the changes in my life, many of which are connected with blogging here, and the nurturing of this community.  

Yeah.

So i’m just meandering through this today, on my way to cook some vegetables, make my world-famous (not)  vegetarian pot pie, and thought i’d share them with you ~ the quotes, that is, not the pot pie, although, if you’re in the neighborhood, feel free to stop by.   

i need  to keep moving here… Saturday night is date night, ya know, and i’m pretty sure that Sir will be in need of some attention. {Happy sigh}  

P.S.  In case you were wondering ~ i resolved the calendar issue.  Thanks for all the input, especially Michelle!!

17 Responses to “Quotes to Consider”

  1. faerie July 21, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Somebody recently suggested to me in a comment that I should change the name of my blog. His reasoning was that clearly I already know how to fly. I’m not going to, but if I did, Claiming the Yes in Myself, would be a great new name for it. Thanks for sharing these 🙂

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      Hi, faerie,

      They had a point ~ you sure do know how to fly! i’m glad you’re not changing anything about your blog, much less the name, but “Claiming the Yes in Myself” would be a great name! I’m so glad you liked the quote.

      Thank you!

      aisha

  2. sin July 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I do wonder what the yes looks like sometimes.
    -sin

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      Hi, Sin,

      Yep.

      aisha

  3. Michelle July 21, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    You’re welcome. I like helping.
    And I also love that quote. How much does that hold us back – fearing the yeses within ourselves.

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

      Hi, Michelle,

      I’m glad you liked the quote. i think the fear does hold us back, more than i’d like to think. But how cool it is when we’re able to step out there and say yes anyhow!

      aisha

  4. abby July 21, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    I am such a quote person, I used to put a new one on my door every day of the school year…wish I had you aroun then. Fearing the yesses within our selves…deep breath…
    hugs abby

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

      Hey, Abby,

      How cool about the quotes on your door!! Wish i could have been there to read them. 🙂 Glad you liked this one…

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. greengirl July 21, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I had an all Audre Lorde seminar in College. I think i wasn’t old or experienced or something enough to understand her then, and I’m not so sure i am now – but certainly things to tantalize my thinking. Thank you.

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      Hi, Gg,

      i’m glad you found them “tantalizing to think about’ ~ which i think is even better than interesting! i can imagine that such a seminar would have been difficult, particularly when you were young. i don’t know if i understand her either, but i sure like her.

      Thank you,

      aisha

  6. Wordwytch July 21, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    I like your quotes. The one on pain reminds me of another… and I can’t remember who said it or exactly how, but the jist is… “pain reminds us that we are alive”.

    Hope you have a great date night. 🙂

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Hey, Wordwytch,

      Googled your quote ~ it by “unknown” and the whole thing goes

      Pain reminds us we’re alive-Love reminds us why.

      Very cool. Thanks for sharing it!!

      aisha

      • Wordwytch July 22, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

        That’s it! 🙂

  7. vanillamom July 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    glad your calendar got resolved. You know I have a stoopid phone, so I was only bein’ a sassy slut to you!

    That first quote…makes me mad. I keep reading it to figure out why, but there ya go. I love the one about pain, and the yes inside. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking of late. (be afraid!)…trying to balance the science I love with the faith I believe. Thinking about souls, and dying, and living fully, embracing every moment and squeezing every frikking drop from it before I go.

    Freeing the “yes” inside is so terribly difficult, isn’t it? Especially so as a submissive, I think…we can say “yes” to accepting that we are so, and “yes” to offering that submission to someone…but once we do, our “yes’s” become curtailed to the will of our Dominant. Add in vanilla responsibilities; wife or husband, children, homecare, pets, work….that “yes” goes from being a resounding chorus to a hushed whisper.

    I’m thinking aloud here…not making any one point. Trying to battle back Saturday night insomnia, caused by Sunday anticipation… 🙂

    Love,

    nilla

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

      Hey, Ms. ‘nilla,

      Mmmmhmmmm, “sassy slut” is about right. 🙂 i love that about you, you know. i was just teasing.

      How interesting that the first quote makes you angry… wish i could get inside your head and see what that’s about… O, sorry! Did i say that outloud? Mwahahahaha…

      Seriously, i love you thinking out loud here. You’re right, i think that it’s hard to find your own yes when you feel like you need to say yes to all the external demands.

      And i suspect that right this minute, as i type this, you are in the middle of saying yes over and over and over. To your Master, and maybe to Mr. Belt.

      i love belts, ya know…

      hugs,

      aisha

  8. vanillamom July 21, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    p.s. (since I’m already being a chatty cathy here!) I’ve been thinking a lot about your white shirt.

    I love the idea of him ordering that the care of it come from your own hands. How, as you take the time and effort, the touching, and all the symbolism of that shirt…you will inevitably be drawn into memories of it, and anticipations for it.

    it’s swooningly D/s romantic.

    You’ll iron the collar, and imagine his hands tugging it open to fasten your rope collar around your throat. You’ll press the sleeves, and remember the tingle in your fingers when you roll them up in preparation, to make them the right length for your arms, yet knowing they cradled his.

    It is a wonderful ritual of caring, first, and the way he weaves himself into your thoughts as you take care of this shirt…it’s brilliant, and beautiful. Aisha? It’s a story, writ in cotton. That just makes me smile.

    nilla

    • aisha July 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

      Dearest ‘Nilla,

      You are so right, and you describe it so beautifully, in such lovely sensual terms. You’re right, it is a story, and i love the way you’ve written it here… Thank you for sharing this.

      hgs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

