I Might Be Part-Domme

6 Aug

This is a very vanilla post.  Just warning you.

i went to a store yesterday, and, among other things, i got cat food.  Dry cat food, which is all my cats eat.  i got the 6 pound bags ~ the medium size ones.

i’m in the check-out lane and i’ve got all my stuff up on the conveyor belt.  The cashier is young and cute and brisk.  Very efficient.

As she’s scanning the items, the bags of cat food are approaching and she says, with just a tiny tinge of impatience, “Ma’am.  I don’t need both those bags up here.   I only need to scan one.”

And i~ i hate to admit this, but i say, “O, okay,” and take one of them off the conveyor belt and put it back in the basket.   

Even as i do it, i’m thinking, “WTF?”

And by the time i get through paying and am ready to leave, i’ve worked up quite an (internal) head of steam.

“Really!” i fume to myself.  “That’s ridiculous!  What was she thinking?  i mean, if they tell me that BEFORE i put the item on the belt, then they’ve saved me some trouble, but to tell me AFTER i’ve already put it up there?  That’s just ridiculous.  That’s not doing ME any favors!  What the hell, didn’t she want to have to move it herself?  That’s HER job, to put it in the basket.  How do they train these people?  Why would she do that???  How dare she do that???!!!  Sheesh!!”

Yep, i was pretty worked up.  i even started to tell the manager.  i get into this thing sometimes where i think someone (some un-named someone) has appointed me in charge of the universe and i have to make sure people know what they could do to improve their service.  i don’t want the individual cashier to get in trouble, but i think it’s a frigging training issue, and i want the management to know.

Someone should make sure the cashiers understand WHEN and WHY one would say, “You don’t need to put both bags up here,” and when it would be inappropriate.

Fortunately, the manager was on break.  And probably wouldn’t actually have been interested anyhow in this service oriented detail overlooked by a just-slightly-snippy cashier.

Which led me to a whole inner monologue about service and how few people understand the finer points of it, how hard it is to get, and how much better off the world would be if more people were willing and understood how to provide it.

For just a second there, i thought i was having the same inner monologue that Ms. Constance or Molly at Under Contract might have with themselves.  Which THEN made me think, “Hey!  Maybe i’m part Domme after all!”

But on second thought, probably not, or not much.  If i were, when she commented on not needing the second bag to scan, i would have just smiled regally.  Or said, “O, that’s ok.”  i’m pretty sure i wouldn’t have leaped to get one bag out of her way.

And then ~ finally ~ in the greater scheme of things ~ i had to laugh at myself.  Because if that was the worst thing that happened to me today {and i think it may have been} then i’m pretty frigging lucky.

Besides, i just got a text message from Sir.  i’d texted to see if he wanted coffee when He got home.

He replied:

Heading home

Coffee.  And buttons.  

ETA 45 minutes

So i need to go.  Now.

7 Responses to “I Might Be Part-Domme”

  1. sin August 6, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    lol @ “Fortunately the manager was on break.” Funny girl!

    • aisha August 7, 2012 at 5:32 am #

      Grinning… thanks, Sin! Glad it amused you…

      aisha

  2. vanillamom August 6, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I admit it…I read the title twice. Aisha?? I said to myself. Aisha thinks she’s got Domme? Um…
    And then I read it.
    And laughed.
    And giggled.
    And grinned.

    Cos you know –taking the food off the belt was submission. (of course you know it)…but doing it for someone you are not in service to? Pissed you off! (sometimes it pisses us off even WHEN it is our Top, right?)

    I can see you being all righteous. A really, really amusing post…coz I could just *see* you. . . very real, very…you.

    And the ending?

    oh.

    Yum.

    Serve your “pissed off” with a chaser of “heat”…?

    Yeah…

    It’s way better that way…!!

    Love and smiles,

    nilla

    • aisha August 6, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Hey, ‘Nilla,

      Thanks, i’m so glad it amused you! It is very “me,” isn’t it? {Blushing…} But you should have heard Sir when i was telling Him about it. He was laughing too – He said the cashier was probably thinking, “What’s wrong with this woman? I’m a professional cashier! Doesn’t she know I had 3.5 hours training in how to BE a cashier. I don’t need BOTH those bags up there, what’s she thinking?” Which had me snorting with laughter and gasping for air.

      That was before He, um, caned my ass.

      Yeah.

      Not so much laughter then…

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. Wordwytch August 7, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    ROFLOL! Oh, that was a riot! When I have a meeting to go to, Wolf teases me about channeling my inner domme. 🙂 Most of the time I think she is in there, just tied to a post with a gag stuffed in her mouth, because once she is let go, oh my does the shit hit the fan. 🙂

    • aisha August 7, 2012 at 5:44 am #

      Thanks, Wordwytch, i’m glad you were entertained!

      Yeah, I usually try to make sure my inner domme is going to be productive if she’s coming out!

      hugs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

