Still the Queen…

8 Aug

…of Procrastination, that is.

Thursday morning, i’ll get on a plane to Very-Far-Away, with at least two, maybe three, large suitcases stuffed to the gills with clothes and other items of necessity for my daughter, her partner, and that grand-baby.   i will have a carry-on and a backpack with my clothes and shoes and so on ~ enough for 10 days of travel.

Yes, Mouse, this is karma come back to bite me with a vengeance.  All that amazement i expressed at how you were going to travel with one carry-on bag per person?  And Sin, remember how i blithely said i’d need a whole suitcase just for my shoes?

Right.  

So here i am, reduced to a carry-on and a backpack myself.  Clearly, Fate, in that charming way she has, is laughing at me.   Loudly.

But that’s not why i’m retaining the Queen of Procrastination title.  i keep that honor because ~ drum roll, wait for it ~~~

i have not

STARTED

 packing yet.

Not just my stuff, which will be easy enough.  But not my daughter’s stuff either, not her family’s stuff, which is spread out all over my basement.

It’s almost 7 a.m.  And i leave before dawn tomorrow.  Have to be at the airport by 5 a.m.

Sheesh.  What was i thinking?  Why didn’t i start on Monday?  And couldn’t that be The Procrastinator’s Lament?

Anyhow.  It will get done, because it has to, and that’s how it works for us last-minute-ers.

i imagine i’ll have a chance to blog tomorrow in one of my lengthy lay-overs, but after that i may or may not have access to the internet.  So if my posting is sporadic, that’s why.   i’ll be thinking of you all though, that’s for sure.

And now, i’d better go start packing for real.  Well, as soon as i have one more cup of coffee, right?  i haven’t read my blogs yet this morning either.  Better go see what’s up with youall…  

13 Responses to “Still the Queen…”

  1. sin August 8, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    One time… I procrastinated studying for a test. This was not long long ago. More like 4 years ago. I kept thinking I would get to it. But ummm. I didn’t really. So I studied a bit. A very little bit. About 20 minutes worth actually. And went into this test that kind of mattered with that procrastinator’s lament, “Oh why couldn’t I have started on Monday?” And felt like an idiot. And passed by one mark. Apparently I did just enough to squeak through. Though, really, it would have been waaaaay more comfortable if I had just started earlier.

    The moral of the story? Things will probably be fine. Unless they aren’t. Have a great trip.

    -sin

    • aisha August 8, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      Dear Sin,

      Oooh, that story would put you in the running for Queen if the competition weren’t already over. Plus, it’s got the added bonus of Procrastination PAYOFF!! That’s part of what keeps us going, right?

      When i was in college, i didn’t want to take physical education – so i put it off for 3 and a half years. My last semester of my senior year – they dropped it as a requirement. SCORE!!

      Ok, going to pack in just a minute…

      aisha

      • sin August 8, 2012 at 8:58 am #

        yessss, I see you get it completely. Btw, I didn’t realize that the competition was already over. So I think I should still be able to enter… Or maybe I could just be a runner up. Procrastination Princess? Has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it? All in favour?
        -sin

  2. vanillamom August 8, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I’m sorry…I love, love LOVE you…but that just makes me cringe !!! When I came to see you…well you know I was ready early.

    And…um…I’m already planning what to bring for our family camping trip in September. Planning the menu. Deciding when to cook and freeze things. Its (ahem) charted. On my family calendar.

    I know, I know. I just work better, organized. The people at work were *amazed* that I’d created my own checklist for opening and closing for the day…I even (blush) laminated it and can use a dry-erase marker on it.

    I know—that makes many people want to smack me. I can’t help it…I just work better when things are all laid out ahead of time. And I’ve *always* been like that. Maybe it’s in my DNA?

    I love you for who you are –and I can smile at your crown, Q of P.

    You’ll be missed here.

    nilla

    • aisha August 8, 2012 at 7:59 am #

      Dear ‘Nilla,

      Mwhahahahahahahahahaha!

      Payback for all the tentacles!!

      love,

      aisha

  3. faerie August 8, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    Have a safe trip, now go pack, lol 🙂

  4. striving for peace August 8, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    You can do it
    more importantly
    you will do it

    and then you should get a cookie.

    hugs — and good travel vibes

    sfp

  5. Fondles August 8, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    oh it’s wednesday night. And i leave on friday afternoon for a weekend away. perhaps i should actually do some laundry so i have enough underwear to pack!! erm, yeah. off to do laundry. Now. hmm. there’s at least 2 loads worth there. sigh. or maybe i’ll do one now and one tomorrow. heh.

  6. joolz August 8, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    In my opinion there is no point packing more than 12 hours before you leave, though Fondles, it is generally best to wash your clothes before they are packed. Have a great time Aisha xx

  7. monkey August 8, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    I’m laughing so hard I can’t comment.

  8. Wordwytch August 8, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    I have to admit, I’m with Nilla. We decided to go visit my son and DIL, and the grandboys on Thursday. I was packed and ready in one hour. We left a little late on Sunday because of Wolf’s scheduling mishaps with my Dad. However, we arrived only 30 minutes late.

    Hope all goes well for your visit! Lots of hugs!!!

  9. nancy August 8, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Of course you’ll get it done.. you can always sleep on the plane! I’m right there with you as far as putting it off til the last second. Travel safely and enjoy if you can!

  10. yesthankyousir August 11, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Missing you friend!

Leave a Reply

