Intuition

18 Oct

Intuition:  direct perception of truth, fact, etc., independent of any reasoning process; immediate apprehension.

Intuition is that sense of just knowing.  When i can’t say how, or what it’s based on, but i just know

Only sometimes i don’t.  Even if i’m really sure i’m right, sometimes i’m not.

Intuition is based on subtle cues that we absorb without words.  It’s powerful knowledge.

And i think it’s helpful to test it.  Examine it, and poke at it, rather than accepting it blindly.

Sometimes, it can be misleading.  For example, my intuition may tell me that Susie is not the right person for a particular job.  And i may be right.

Or i may be basing that belief on my stereotypical perception of women.  Or on some little ways that she reminds me of my sister-in-law who used to talk bad about me and borrowed my favorite book and never returned it.

Intuition is, by definition, not based on reason.  So it tells us things that our reasonable mind isn’t aware of.  That can be accurate ~ or not.

Writing this, i feel like i don’t trust my intuition at all.  Right now, i’m not aware of being in touch with this sense and it seems very hypothetical and risky.

In fact, i wrote the first part of the post with “you” rather than “i” as if this were so hypothetical it didn’t even connect with me.  i went back and changed it, sometimes that puts me more in touch with something.  Still, i don’t notice a difference.

But i bet i act on intuition more than i realize.  i’m going to watch for it over the next few weeks, see if i can catch myself having intuitions about things.  Maybe nurture my awareness of that sense a bit.

*******************************

On a whole different note, i found this comment tucked away in my spam:

To use an example from my local community, there has recently been some controversy about whether we should start having birthday spankings at munches again. Apparently it’s intolerant of my friends and me to oppose coercive group scenes at events that are supposed to be a safe place for newbies to meet other kinky people. It’s fine and dandy, however, to tell people like me to not come to a munch if I don’t want to be pressured to be part of a group scene.

The comment was apparently intended for the post about the new kink group, so i thought it had ended up in spam by mistake.  But as it turns out, no, it really was spam.  Some company selling some corporate investment crap, i think.

That amazes me.  They sent a spam comment that was specifically geared to my post.  And it’s the kind of thing that’s interesting to me – a conundrum about consent and kink.  How do they do that????  Did it go out to a zillion kinky websites?  And how did they know what to write that might appeal??

Anyhow.  Those are the things i wonder about.

Yesterday, i got a text from Ms. Constance, a last-minute invitation to lunch with her and Cookie Slut.  Cookie Slut, hereinafter referred to as CS, formerly known on these pages as “K ,”  is the one with gorgeous green eyes.  She is famous for her homemade cookies.

i was delighted ~ it’s been forever since i had lunch with Ms. Constance, and although i know CS vaguely, it was a nice opportunity to get to know her better.  Nothing noteworthy to talk about from lunch, although it was fun.  And Ms. Constance does a lovely imitation of a hawk taking a bath on the top of her pool cover.  No, really, she does.

We went to my favorite place in the world, and i had a lovely salad, then spoiled the effect later in the day with 500 calories worth of honey roasted almonds.  It could have been worse, fortunately that was the last of the almonds.  But good grief, twenty-five pounds, that’s all i need to lose, and i’d be a size 8 and happy with that.   You’d think i could stay out of the almonds for a few weeks.

i was impatient and frustrated with myself.  i was not as productive as i wanted to be, didn’t exercise, and just generally felt useless.  When i feel that way, it’s easy to spiral down into a real “let’s beat up on aisha” emotional mindset.   i was glad when Sir got home from work.

After dinner {one vegan burger without bread} Sir pulled up a video on his computer that i had wanted to see last week ~ work-related, not kink ~ and for a second i didn’t even want to watch that.   But i stifled my protest, settled down and watched.  It was pretty interesting.

Then i sat at His feet for a while, and stroked and massaged Him, which centers me and makes me feel good.  By bedtime, He was happily relaxed, and i was feeling kinder to myself.  Today, i’m ready to handle the world again.

14 Responses to “Intuition”

  1. sin October 18, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    For what it’s worth, maybe not much, but who knows, I don’t think it sounds like spam. I think it sounds like someone who also has a corporate/sales agenda who is commenting on your blog. But maybe not. After all I didn’t see the comment.

    • aisha October 18, 2012 at 7:36 am #

      Hey, Sin,

      No, you have seen it – what i posted is all there was, so that’s not really a comment, but i saw it when i first woke up and was like, “O, that looks real…”

      Nice thought though.

      aisha

  2. vanillamom October 18, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    why is it, I wonder, that one “bad” thing…a negative comment, a slip on our diet, whatever…lingers with us so. For it’s not just you, dear subsister, who goes on those downward spirals. Glad the almonds are behind you, and the most important thing is that today…is a new day.

    I’ve had a few spam comments like that too…like how on earth did they know to comment so on target, yet still be spam?

    I can imagine Ms. Constance doing the hawk thing (and I think it is *wicked* neat that she had a hawk bathing in her pool-cover in the first place!)….picturing it made me smile this morning.

    Another thoughtful post…thank you.

    nilla

    • aisha October 19, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      Hey, ‘nilla,

      You’re so right, it often does take just one thing to throw us off track. Thank goodness we get to start over every day!!

      Yeah, you would have enjoyed our lunch – wish you could have been there.

      hugs,

      aisah

  3. dancingbarez October 18, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    Go get em girl!

    I follow my intiution more then I would like to admit, sometimes it gets me in trouble.

    • aisha October 19, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

      Thanks, Dancingbarez!! i’ll try to!

      And yeah, i think it does lead us astray occasionally. 🙂 Although JM the amazing analyst would probably say that our intuition leads us into the soul work we need to do, not necessarily where our ego would have us go….

      hugs,

      aisha

  4. faithful October 18, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Natural almonds (honey roasted = bad) are the way to go – and what works for me is brushing my teeth right after dinner. It prohibits any bad food behaviors in the nighttime.
    Perhaps 25 lbs is too much of a goal- start with 5 and then once you get there re-evaluate again. And YES exercise clears the mind and the soul but don’t beat yourself up if you miss a day, there is always tomorrow.

    My intuition says you can do it!

    ~faithful

    • aisha October 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Dear Faithful,

      Thanks for the encouraging words. 🙂 You know, I don’t want natural almonds, i want the honey roasted ones, that’s the problem! Fortunately, i don’t typically have “bad food behaviors” in the nighttime.

      Of course you’re right, 25 pounds is too much of a goal to start with. I do start with 5 – and I’ve lost 5 – about 5 times over the last few years. The problem is that i gain it back in-between. {laughing…} So my goal is to push past that 5 pound loss mark!

      Anyhow – thanks for the support!

      aisha

  5. SirQsMLB October 18, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Interesting post. I was surprised to hear you say that you are not intuitive. You seem very intuitive in your posts…I think if you look at the meaning and you look at applications – beyond the few examples you provided, that you may find that you use intuition in other circumstances. Thanks for providing food for thought on a rainy gray day.

    • aisha October 19, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Hi, SirQsMLB,

      Thanks for the feedback! Actually, your comment really made me stop and think about what i was saying here. i needed to do that. Thanks again.

      aisha

  6. Jz October 18, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    It’s funny. Intuition has driven most of the decisions in my life — but I still spend scads of time preparing logical justifications for decisions made based on said intuition.
    Perhaps I was a Boy Scout in a previous life…

    • aisha October 19, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      Hi, Jz!!

      Omgosh, i know what you mean. Exactly.

      Although.

      i got to doubt the Boy Scout thing.

      giggling…

      aisha

  7. joolz October 20, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    Intuition – I spent time when i was working on my degree a few years ago looking at this topic, and being a nurse and this being a nursing degree I looked at the concept of novice to expert and how, when you think something is intuitive, it is actually you applying your previous experience to the situation. That may account for how people claim to use their intuition more as they get older. Maybe though if you are the kind of person who needs to be reassured by facts or evidence then you don’t quite trust something you think is purely intuitive. (more on Pat Benner, novice to expert here if you are interested) – http://currentnursing.com/nursing_theory/Patricia_Benner_From_Novice_to_Expert.html

    As to lunch and then ruining the diet with honey roasted almonds, i can so identify with that. I have lost so much weight over the last few years, that, had it stayed off i would be like some kind of stick. Sadly i am not, Mind you Sir likes the curves (or so he says)!

  8. Wordwytch October 20, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    I have discovered that over the years when I’ve ignored my intuition, I screw up. It’s that little voice in my head screaming, yelling or sometimes just gently nudging me in the right direction. So, I listen.

    As for screwing up your diet… sometimes we just need to. It keeps us sane and reminds us why we were doing it in the first place. Hugs!

    Oh, and the idea of MsConstance and the hawk… 🙂

Leave a Reply

