Diets and Boots

24 Oct

i was in a workshop yesterday, and will be today and tomorrow as well, so i’m time limited in the morning.  Thank you all for the lovely comments you left yesterday.  i’m behind on answering comments, but i appreciate them, always.

My 17-Day diet has come to a crashing halt.  It’s touted to help you lose 10 pounds in 17 days. Guess how much i lost.  Go ahead, guess.

None.

Really, i lost no weight.  Zero.

Yes, i know there were those honey roasted almonds.  But that was about two weeks into it, and it shouldn’t have kept me from losing ANY weight.

So i’m going to stick with low carb and low sugar and try to exercise more and not worry about it.  i asked Sir the other night if He could live with me if i don’t lose any weight and just stay the way i am.

He gives me this look and i have to laugh, o yeah that’s right, He is living with me and i was this weight when He moved in!  So i guess He can “live with it.”  He points out that He is not the one making up rules about what i can or can’t eat or putting notes on the almonds that say “Sir’s Nuts, Do Not Eat.”

Um, yeah, i might have done that…  you know, just to remind me.

Anyhow.  i’m ditching the 17 Day diet.  

As we move into fall, i’ve been adding a few items to my wardrobe.  The other day i was looking for rain boots, so i had to go in a shoe store, and they just happened to be having a Buy one, Get one 50% off sale.

Clearly, that was a sign from the universe, and it was a good thing because they happened to have the cutest boots in the universe.

And they were grey.  i didn’t have any grey boots.  So it was actually a sign from the boot and shoe goddess.  

i know Mistress Molly over at UCTMW has some very cute boots, but i think these might top them.  {“Top” them?  Get it?  Hahahahahaha…}

Anyhow.  Here they are ~ a not-great picture, but tell me they’re not adorable.  

Yes, they’re suede, and have a wedge heel.  So they’ll be comfortable enough to wear to work.  Here’s a professional picture of them not on my foot:

Really, there are people who think love makes the world go ’round, and people who think it’s money, but i’m pretty sure that cute boots are what drives it all.  Anyone else have shoes/boots to share?

23 Responses to “Diets and Boots”

  1. SirQsmlb October 24, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    I’m glad he can live with you just the way you are! …and YES-those are REALLY cute boots!! I’m glad the universe was sending signs. 🙂

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

      Thanks, mlb!!

      aisha

  2. sin October 24, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    Yep – cute boots – did you get the rain boots too?

    And my stupid diets work that way sometimes too. Stupid.

  3. heather1 October 24, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Losing weight is the hardest thing I’ve ever done since quitting smoking. As for boots or shoes of any kind, I don’t believe you can ever have to many. I love your new boots. Now I want to go shoe shopping. Of course, R thinks I have way to many (over 100 pair) but he just shacks his head when I come home with a new pair or two or six.

    heather1

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Hi, Heather1,

      Yeah, not smoking any more was tough too!

      I do not have over 100 pairs of of shoes but gosh, no, how could you have too many??

      🙂

      aisha

  4. vanillamom October 24, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Funny on the “topping”…not funny on the diet but yanno what? I love you just the way you are. And if it helps, all those pop tarts I was mowing through the other day are still hanging with me…right around my middle. *sigh*

    I have serious boot envy now. Although I did buy a pair earlier this fall that look a lot like yours but more “scrunchy” and not any neat-o buckles (I love those buckles, ergo, boot envy)…but mine are chocolate brown. And so comfortable. I like shoes, but really? If I let go I’d have 100 pair of boots (I have two “dressy” pair, a hiking pair, and a snow pair). Yes. Thats only 4 pair of boots. Isn’t that sad?

    🙂

    nilla

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

      Hey, ‘nilla,

      Thanks for the love! 🙂

      Four pairs of boots are certainly not too many. No way.

      hugs,

      aisha

  5. ancilla_ksst October 24, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    I love those boots too!

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

      Thanks, Ancilla! aisha

  6. mouse October 24, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    OMG OMG those boots are cute….So very cute…

    Really.

    Tried one of those diets once…it was like…well it was like….Eating grass with flecks of protein. And no, didn’t drop any weight.

    Honestly, going back to the low carb, low sugar, reduce the fat (in foods).

    It’s totally not fun….

    Hugs,
    mouse

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      Thanks, Mouse! {grinning…}

      hugs,

      aisha

  7. Fondles October 24, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    OMG awesome!!! they’re fab. too hot over here to wear anything like those tho.
    but i did see a pretty pair of ankle boots last week and i was so tempted to get them except the price tag was a HUGE deterrent…

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

      Hi, Fondles,

      Thanks! Hope you find the ankle boots of your dreams on sale…

      hugs,

      aisha

  8. Jz October 24, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I’ve adopted an alternate approach and simply celebrate my pudge as an ingenious way to disguise my muscles so I don’t go scaring off men.

    (You’ve heard of “Naked Beneath My Clothes”? … I’m “Muscly Beneath My Fat”)

    That’s my story and I’m stickin’ with it!!!
    (cuz dieting just SUX)

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

      Dear Jz,

      LOL~ i love that!! i may have to steal it. Muscly Beneath My Fat. How awesome is that?

      yY

      aisha

  9. Jake October 24, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Those boots are not just cute, aisha, they are HOT! I love the look of a woman in boots!

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

      Thanks, Jake! 🙂

      aisha

  10. nancy October 24, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    I am what I am body wise and Sir is delighted so I don’t change a whole lot. I can’t follow a diet to save my life.. so not eating late at night is my hard rule.
    Those BOOTS.. wow. very very hot. Of course not for me.. my back won’t let me wear them ..all those years of walking to work in heels in NYC did me in! rats~
    But they are great boots.. truly!

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      Hi, Nancy,

      Thanks!

      Yeah, i dont’ know how much longer i’ll be able to do heels either. But i’m hanging on as long as i can. 🙂

      aisha

  11. Wordwytch October 24, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    As our dear daughter pointed out the other day, it isn’t about dieting, it’s about changing your lifestyle. And if occasionally, you cheat. reward or indulge yourself, you understand the tradeoff and live with it.

    And as with me, our dear Sirs moved in with us when we were this shape. 🙂 I hope to find less of my middle over the next year, but I won’t fret too much. I also try to remember that muscle weighs 3 times what fat does, so when I’ve exercised and pushed and still weigh the same, but my clothes are loose, I just smile.

    The boots… Damn! Gorgeous! I need some winter boots, but they will have to wait just a bit longer.

    • aisha October 26, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Dear Wordwytch,

      Tell your daughter thanks for the words of wisdom, i actually have heard that too! Looks like i’ll probably die a slightly chunky little woman….

      But there are worse things.

      Thanks!

      aisha

      • Wordwytch October 26, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

        Agreed! There are certain things I just like too much. I’ll thank our daughter for you. 🙂 She’s the ‘adult supervision’ far too often. 🙂

Leave a Reply

