Between the Dashes – Three

5 Nov

i took Sfp to the airport today, sorry to see her go.

She is a lovely guest, pleasant, easily pleased, and entertaining.  She has a wicked sense of humor, which makes everything more fun.  We had a blast.

Aside from the fact that Sfp is delightful, it’s fun having a friend who bridges the gap between blogs and real life.  Of course, Ms. Constance does too now, and Donna, who guest blogs on several sites, and a few other folks, but Sfp and ‘Nilla do in a special way.

We know soooooo much about each other!  Think about it.  We’ve been reading each other’s blogs for almost two and a half years.  As Sfp said today, only half kidding,  “We are the definition of over-sharing.”

We’d been talking about the consent/non-consent issue ~ as bloggers do, picking at it this way and that, even though she clearly didn’t feel there had been any breach of propriety, but still we turn it over and around and inside out.  And that’s such a pleasure.  

Part of the point of blogging is being able to pick stuff apart and put it back together, trying to sort and make sense of the lifestyle.   To get to hang out with someone who knows me, who i know on a very different level than we know people in our vanilla lives, and to talk about TTWD ~ it’s just lovely.

i will confess, as i was sitting in the back seat of the car with my ankles tied together {albeit loosely} and  my blacked-out sunglasses on, i hoped that Sfp wasn’t uncomfortable.  But i greatly trust my Sir’s ability to read people and situations, so it was just a passing thought.  

It was very fun, to be able to be who we are openly.  

So i’m glad that Sfp was here, want ‘Nilla to come again, and Donna and Bill, and really, let me put in a plug again for the kinky bloggers convention.  Cause really, how much fun would that be????

Some reminders:  Friday the 9th is Love our Lurkers Day!  {This is the first year i’ve realized it before it was already past, so i’m extra excited.}  AND it’s getting close to the annual cookie recipe exchange ~ AND this year, i actually know what i’m going to make!  How cool is that?

Now i need to get back to working on my fantasy…

11 Responses to “Between the Dashes – Three”

  1. SirQsMLB November 5, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    It is kind of funny. We have these vanilla lives and friends who have TMI in their vocabulary…then we have the people we “know” and “converse with” in blogland and we embody TMI. We know more about the intimate and emotional parts of each other’s lives, the parts that in vanilla land are guarded so as not to make others uncomfortable or to let others get too close.

    Glad you had fun with Sfp!

    • aisha November 6, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      Hi, MLB,

      Yes. It is interesting. It used to baffle me a bit, how i could feel so close to people i’d never “met,” but it makes perfect sense now. Or mostly it does. 🙂

      aisha

  2. striving for peace November 5, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    It was really an amazing time — I am (finally) home — catching up with the pile of things on my DVR – and for once (GASP) NOT crocheting — really — I’m not

    mostly because I’m tired and it’s waaaaaaay over there.

    Much love to you and your Sir — it was wonderful oversharing with you — as always sub sis.

    sfp

    • aisha November 6, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Omigosh, Sfp, you know i had a blast too. Sir and i both enjoyed you immensely. Come back soon…

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. Wordwytch November 5, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    It sounds like you had a lovely time, and that is what it is all about.

    As for Love our Lurkers day…. Um…. I’ll be baking a pecan pie… for me. It’s the 53rd anniversary of my appearance on this planet. 🙂 And if I am really lucky, I’ll be spending it in a hotel with Wolf. 🙂

    • aisha November 6, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      Woohoo! 53rd “anniversary” of your birth – how exciting! And a pecan pie is the perfect way to celebrate.

      hugs,

      aisha

      • Wordwytch November 6, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

        Yes, and I am looking forward to that.

  4. ancilla_ksst November 5, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

    Fantasy is ok, but I really like the reality.

    • aisha November 6, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Thanks, Ancilla!! i appreciate that, and for real, i do too!

      aisha

  5. vanillamom November 6, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    You know, I pictured the two of you talking about this very question that sin raised. And while I was at work last night I was thinking about it too. And you’re so right…we overshare, especially here, because, well…for me, it’s because I remember how *terrified* I was at who I was letting out of the closet. Who was that woman? Why did this tuff stuff turn her on? Where had she been (repressed) hidden all these years. Blogs were a guide for me, to let me know I was okay. (Normal being so overrated!)….and i hope that some day something I write will turn the key in the lock for someone else…it’s a journey with no map, no guideposts. This sort of “oversharing” can be really helpful, especially for those who read and lurk as I did for more than a year…

    You’re blog is such a guide…because no one helps us break down the “who we are, why do we do this” better than you, aisha. And does it in such a caring, thought-provoking manner that is non-confrontational. You are, very simply, the best of us.

    I’m so glad you had a great time, and i am very much looking ahead to see when I can make a return visit work for me, as well.

    Many hugs and much love,

    nilla

    • aisha November 6, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      Hey, ‘Nilla,

      i i totally agree with you on how we let that person out of the closet here ~ and how wonderful is that! Most of my blogging friends don’t know a lot of mundane things about me, but they sure know a lot of other things!

      And you know that all that nice stuff about me just makes me blush and squirm, and all i can say is ‘thanks for the kind words.’ 🙂

      Can’t wait to see you again.

      hugs and love,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

