Quickie

17 Nov

No, not that kind of quickie, get your mind out of the gutter, please!

{giggling…}

No, a couple of things i need to say:

1.  i can’t figure out how to put my Liebster award on my blog sidebar.  That’s why i don’t have my one-lovely-blog award, or the one that was going around the year before that i got, or the “BloggersUnited” one ~ cause i don’t know how to put ’em on there.  i use wordpress.  Can anyone help?

2.  i read Jz’s post where she answered the questions, and put some questions of her own out there {YAY!!}  But she was saying she wouldn’t do the “nominate other bloggers” part, because “It feels like publicly ranking your friends.”

And that kind of worried me, because yes, i guess it can be like that… and of course there are lots of people i could have nominated, but it doesn’t mean i like them any less.   Ancilla is one, i subscribe to her blog so i read it every time she posts, but i didn’t nominate her, but i nominated other people who know her and read her so the ball’s in their court.  {Not trying to call you out, ancilla, but you’re a good example because i read you all the time and love your blog and everyone should go read you now!!}

So maybe i won’t do that part of awards anymore either?  But it’s one of the ways new bloggers get known…  sigh.  But mostly i’m saying this because i want you to know that i didn’t ~ i don’t know.  It’s silly to say i didn’t want to hurt anyone, because of course i didn’t, but if i did, it doesn’t really matter what i intended.

AND i know Jz wasn’t trying to make me feel bad!  i’m glad she brought it up, because it does make me think.

Do youall think it’s more hurtful than fun????

3.  Faithful ~ youall know faithful, right, who comments on blogs often ~ she has her own blog!!  YES!!  i’m delighted, partly because she said a long time ago that she was going to but i thought she’d forgotten or changed her mind and now she does!!  So, go visit her here and leave lots of comments because she’s wonderful about commenting.

As i write this, our girl Naomi is enjoying a light breakfast ~ coffee, one piece of multi-grain toast, and half of an orange.  She’s ready for more adventures...

21 Responses to “Quickie”

  1. ancilla_ksst November 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    Oh thank you! I love yours also and read every one of them.

    And I was hoping for a hot ‘n’ sweaty quickie read here. My mind is down the gutter and gone.

    I don’t feel any particular way about the award giving thing. I just heard of it this week, so it is not a big deal to me. It pretty much sounds like a way to promote the blogs you like. Nothing wrong with that.

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      Hi, Ancilla,

      Grinning… sorry it wasn’t that kind of quickie!

      Thanks for the input on my question ~ that’s helpful!

      aisha

  2. MsConstanceExplains November 17, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I doubt anyone thinks you hate them for not mentioning them. 🙂

    And you are right, how do people find new blogs if you don’t list names?

    Maybe the thing to do is take a day to list links and reasons for the blogs you really like, say 20 of them, regardless of the following, etc., and if it’s 28 it’s 28 or 22, it’s 22.

    I do know that I often look at the blogger links that people list on the right and they are so often so out of date as to be kind of pointless. Maybe an effort to make sure that all of the links that list the blogs you like are valid is a way not to leave anyone out.

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Hi, Ms. Constance,

      Laughing… no, i’m pretty sure lots of people are grateful they don’t get mentioned! And i’ve noticed a lot of people are doing “Follow Friday” posts and featuring good posts from other blogs, which is pretty cool.

      And you make a good point about blog rolls ~ particularly the ones on WordPress where they don’t when the last post was. i haven’t redone mind in ~ um, forever. That moves up on my to do list.

      Thanks!

      aisha

  3. faithful November 17, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out- Means so much coming from you aisha. My therapist suggested a journal to document my feelings as Master deploys and what a better place than Blog-land.. I am writing it for me but perhaps if I help another along the way that would be an added bonus.

    Looking forward to Naomi’s next adventure!!

    ~faithful

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      Hi, Faithful,

      You are so welcome! i hope it’s helpful for you ~ i know blogging has been amazingly wonderful for me. And i’m sure other people will benefit from your insight.

      Thank you,

      aisha

  4. SirQsMLB November 17, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Thank you for mentioning me aisha. I am a HUGE fan of your blog and a have read it long before I got the nerve to comment and then before I decided to blog myself.

    OK…so now, do I do as Jz or not? What’s the best path?

    Lastly, you are SUCH A TEASE with giving us 1.5 sentences about naomi…ERG! Only because I’m enjoying it so much 🙂

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Hi, Mlb,

      Well, i’m glad you started commenting, and super glad you started blogging!

      Do it. Pick 11. Or 10 or 12 or whatever. That’s my suggestion. Spread the joy.

      And a tease??? Me??? lol….

      aisha

  5. striving for peace November 17, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    I’m glad Naomi is getting a snack…..she needs it.

    I think you might be worrying a bit too much about the award thing. It speaks to how kind you are that you do worry about it — and part of what we love about you

    sfp

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:08 am #

      Hi, Sfp,

      i know! Her stomach was rumbling.

      Yeah, i hear you, i do that sometimes. But i think it’s important to ask, and i’m not stuck in worrying about it, i just think it’s important to consider it, you know?

      And thanks. 🙂

      aisha

  6. vanillamom November 17, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    I think the idea of these sort of awards are to publicize new blogs. My reading time, for instance is very limited, and sporadic. I might get two hours to read one day, and then 5 minutes the next. I cruise my own blog roll but how do I find new people? usually from you, actually! So I think it’s fine.

    Wanna know a secret?

    I was *praying* you didn’t nominate me! LOL…coz I hate trying to pick n choose…and I don’t often see the newbies amongst us. So bravo to you for naming NEW names. We want these newbies to have a voice, and a readership…

    as to the wp thing, I’ll try to IM you later to explain it. It’s in the options for your widgets. I’m not certain ALL w.p. blog templates support the badges, tho most do. I think it’s something like “add image” or something like that. LMK if you can’t figure it out. …i will have some time on Monday to help if you need it.

    HUGS

    nilla
    wondering about that little slut naomi….

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      Hey, Nilla,

      Lol… i KNEW you’d be glad i didn’t name you! Ha! Sfp would have been happy if she wasn’t on the list either. Too bad. Mwhahahahahaha.

      Thanks for the input on my discussion question though, that’s helpful.

      And thanks in advance for the blog help. i found a thing that said “image” but it doesn’t seem to work right for me, but maybe you can work e through it.

      hugs,

      aisha

  7. Kitty the Submissive Wife November 18, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    I am personally never offended to not be on a list of blogs, and I am always delighted to find myself there… but yes, these awards can be kind of like chain letters? Right now, I know of two nominations I have, so I am wondering if I answer both sets of 11 questions will that suffice for the 11 new things about me? And why 11?

    Anyway, I know you weren’t overworried, but I just stopped in to say, don’t worry. 🙂 I loved reading your award post. And I like that you were willing to nominate. And that you picked different than normal.

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      Thanks, Kitty, the input is helpful. i feel the same way, so that’s all good.

      As for the rest – hmmm, i really want you to answer my questions, so i vote that you have to answer both. But you know, i’m submissive, so that’s really just a suggestions.

      i’m so glad you enjoyed my post!

      hugs,

      aisha

  8. Wordwytch November 18, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    I’m rather ambivalent about awards. It is nice to be recognized, but finding enough new blogs when I don’t have the time to read. I’d much rather have a shout out on occasion and that’s about it.

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Dear Wordwytch,

      i will make a note of that for the future, but it’s too late this time. Sorry. {Not.}

      laughing….

      aisha

  9. Fondles November 18, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    yeah i’m with Kitty. we really don’t mind when we don’t get named. i figure eventually we read each other’s blogs and someone ends up naming us anyway… LOL

    and if not, then it’s fine cos I’m happy with my bunch of blogfriends, and will continue to scour the other blogs and other bloggers’ links for more blogs.. and you know what i mean 🙂

    Kitty – i got nominated twice too so i’m just gonna do a bunch of things about me, and i’m gonna skip nominations this time cos when i did that with another award i felt so awful and went back and nominated another bunch of bloggers.

    so peeps can just go to my Follow Friday posts 🙂

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      Hi, Fondles,

      Thanks for the input!! i love the way folks have stepped up to talk about it.

      And really, no, i want you to answer my questions. Sigh. Ok, fine. It’s your choice. lol…

      i agree, those of you who do Follow Friday posts are providing a wonderful service and can skip nominations though.

      hugs,

      aisha

  10. ancilla_ksst November 18, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    I really like the way my blog site does the blog links- under each one is the date of the last update. I use it myself to see everyone’s latest updates, and I think it may be handy for other people to avoid going to blogs that have been abandoned. When I have time to spare I go surfing around through other people’s blog links.

    • aisha November 18, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      Hi, ancilla,

      Yeah, i like that too. If wordpress would do that, it would make my life much easier.

      Sigh…

      aisha

Leave a Reply

