A Rumi Kind of Day

21 Dec
by Deborah Stanley - this is a notecard I have...

by Deborah Stanley – this is a notecard I have…

Do you know Rumi?  He was a Persian, Muslim, Sufi poet who lived in the 13th century.  He is fascinating.

Almost randomly, i can pick quotes from him and love them:

“Flow down and down in always widening rings of being.” 
― Rumi

“That moon which the sky never saw
even in dreams
has risen again” 
― Rumi

*The minute I heard my first love story I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was. Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”  
― Rumi

Rumi makes me want to wear long robes and dance.  He really does. Or dance sky-clad under the moon. I think I will do Nia today.

The cats got me up twice last night ~ once to let one of them out, then again to let him back in.  HIs brother wakes me up, scratching on the cabinet in the bedroom insistently til i drag myself out of bed.

At 2:00 i was up, again at 2:30.  This sudden winter confuses them, they want to go out where it’s warm, not here in the blustery cold.  i don’t blame them.

But i couldn’t go back to sleep.  Even curled warm and cosy against Sir, i couldn’t sleep.  About 3:15, i gave up and got up.  

Now i feel like i could sleep, and it’s really too late.  Sigh.

And Rumi is dancing in my head.

“The soul is here for its own joy.” 
― Rumi

i read a wonderful book by Lloyd Alexander, who i love anyhow for the Chronicles of Prydain, but i stumbled across one he wrote before that.  Called The Arkadians,  it’s not my favorite of his books, but i loved it anyhow.  And it gives me the same sense, the same feeling of connectedness.

Then today i was rooting  through old emails for something and i found this by MoR {Master of the Revels.}  Of course i can’t find it again now that i want to quote him, but it was something about getting in touch with my own feminine power, and being MoR, he meant it beyond hearth and home, not that there’s anything wrong with that.

But i’m not Hera, or Hestia, or even Demeter.  i believe i’m Hectate, goddess of journeys, she presides  over the fork in the road.  She helped Demeter find Persephone in the underworld, and accompanies others on similar quests.

Goddesses in Older Women is a lovely book if you’re drawn to that kind of thing.

i feel connected to all that female energy today ~ like faerie and some other folks said yesterday, we’ll find each other again even if it all does end today.

Not that i think it will…

8 Responses to “A Rumi Kind of Day”

  1. striving for Peace December 21, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    Hectate, goddess of journeys, …. presides over the fork in the road

    oh

    yes

    you are!

    • aisha December 22, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Hey, Sfp,

      Grinning… it’s funny how it does fit, isn’t it?

      aisha

  2. abby December 21, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    For sommeone who is tired…a wonderful post. I love the quote about finding love…I agree you found the perfect goddess for you!
    hugs abby

    • aisha December 22, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      Thanks, Abby!

      Rumi is a source of wisdom…

      hugs,

      aisha

  3. sin December 21, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    I agree on your Goddess. I wonder which one I’d be… it probably depends on the day.

    Happy Solstice.

    -sin

    • aisha December 22, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      Oooooh, good question, Sin. Have you ever read Goddesses in Every Woman or Goddesses in Older Women? I’d love to know who you relate to.

      Thank you, 🙂

      aisha

  4. Wordwytch December 21, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Happy Solstice! I woke up this morning thinking of all those times with the boys when we would Drum up the Sun… banging on pots and pans and drums, singing “Hail to the Sun God! He’s a fun God! Ra! Ra! RA!.

    Then I snuggled back under the covers.

    • aisha December 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

      Hey, Wordwytch,

      That sounds like so much fun!!

      Glad you got the extra sleep this time around though…

      hugs,

      aisha

Leave a Reply

