On the Run ~ Again.

7 Mar

i am on the run today, got to be somewhere by 8, and have stuff scheduled intermittently all day til 8 tonight.  So here’s some food for thought ~ 

i love googling “quotes submission.”   There’s such a lovely range of choices. From Jane Eyre:

I do not think, sir, you have any right to command me, merely because you are older than I, or because you have seen more of the world than I have; your claim to superiority depends on the use you have made of your time and experience.”
― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

…which i whole-heartedly agree with.  After all, there’s no consent to him commanding her there.  To Fifty Shades:

So you’ll get your kicks by exerting your will over me.”
“It’s about gaining your trust and your respect, so you’ll let me exert my will over you. I will gain a great deal of pleasure, joy, even in your submission. The more you submit, the greater my joy – it’s a very simple equation.”
“Okay, and what do I get out of this?”
He shrugs and looks almost apologetic.
“Me,” he says simply.”
― E.L. James, Fifty Shades of Grey

…which cracks me up.  It does sound ridiculous, when you put it that way.  And reminds me that i don’t think she’s submissive or she wouldn’t have to ask.  To the Christian perspective:

How you respond to authority over you says a lot about what you claim to believe. When your standard of living is Christ-centered, you invariably live to honor others.”
― Kevin Thoman

…which doesn’t speak to me anymore, but does to lots of people.  To this from Tammy Jo Eckhart, who i got to see present at Kinky Kollege:

Submissive men, men who desire to serve as consensual slaves, are on one of the most difficult journeys in the world today, because they have rejected patriarchal privilege and embraced their own heart’s calling instead.”
― TammyJo Eckhart, At Her Feet: Powering Your Femdom Relationship

…which makes me think about drew, Ms. Constance’s slave, and mick and Molly, and other male submissives i’ve known.  To this:

Keep me rather in this cage, and feed me sparingly, if you dare. Anything that brings me closer to illness and the edge of death makes me more faithful. It is only when you make me suffer that I feel safe and secure. You should never have agreed to be a god for me if you were afraid to assume the duties of a god, and we know that they are not as tender as all that. You have already seen me cry. Now you must learn to relish my tears.” 

― Pauline Réage

…which is from the woman who wrote Story of O ~ i don’t remember it from Story of O, but it may have been there, or maybe she wrote other stuff.  But that passage just gives me food for thought.

P.S.  This is my 1010th post.  i meant to celebrate at 1,000, but forgot so this will have to do.  YAY!!  {Laughing…}

3 Responses to “On the Run ~ Again.”

  1. Wordwytch March 7, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    Lovely quotes! 🙂 The best being the last.

  2. Dennis Straton September 4, 2013 at 6:56 am #

    Great excerpt! I have this on the TBR pile – surprised I haven’t read it yet. Definitely bumping it up!!

  3. Steve October 27, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

    watch our link!!!!

Leave a comment